We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, mid-western hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, mid-western hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our third trip to Chicago in 3 years. Having stayed at The Fairmont and Intercontental in the past, we wanted a location near the theatre district. The Hampton was surprisingly satisfying in terms of service from the valet to the front desk and breakfast service. The price was awesome for what we got. The room was Quiet and Clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
janiee11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. We are so glad you picked us for your 3rd trip to Chicago. It is our hope that you will pick us every time you are in our lovely city. It6 sounds like you had a wonderful experience and we would love to welcome you back again soon!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    290
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
248
324
92
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent two nights here on a business trip. The hotel is located in the center of the Loop, and within walking distance of many of the subway/elevated lines (blue, red, and all of the loop lines). The entry is a bit odd - you go in and take an elevator to the fourth floor. The check in was quick and friendly. I was given a room on the top (21st) floor with a view of the Wrigley building. The room was clean and nicely set up. The bathroom was very spacious with good water pressure. The elevators worked well for me, though I had a conversation with another guest felt they were slow. Breakfast was the typical Hampton. If you are driving, be aware the overnight parking rate is $42 with in and our privileges.
The room was dead quiet at night, and there was little street noise given I was on such a high floor. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
LittleBoyBrew,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. We love to hear from all of our different kinds of travelers and we are so glad you enjoyed your business trip to Chicago and your experience at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the first time i have stayed at the Hampton and I want to say it was excellant! The staff were very helpful and nice. We got there early in the morning, way before check in and they told us to please sit down have breakfast and they would get us a room ready as soon as possible. By the time we finished eating we had a room!

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
1960Dee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience. I am so glad our team was able to invite you to a nice warm breakfast and an early check in. Those things can really make a difference and our team strives to do everything we can to make our guests feel right at home.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took the train into Chicago to see a play at the Bank of America Theatre, and chose the Hampton Majestic because it was right next door to the theatre and close to Union Station. It exceeded our expectations. We arrived too early to get into our room, but the bellman on the ground floor checked our bags for us while we visited the Art Institute of Chicago and Millenium Park (just three long blocks away). When we returned, our room was ready. It was very comfortable. The front desk staff, especially Fred, was very friendly, and hot beverages and cookies and fresh fruit were available when we checked in. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had at a Hampton, and the front desk clerk walked around with a coffee pot offering refills when he wasn't busy at the desk. When we checked in, Fred gave us a map and a handout that included a list of restaurants in the area, with addresses as well as the distance (in blocks) from the hotel. Very useful. It was cold and rainy when we went to the theatre and we didn't even have to wear a coat or walk outside. The hotel is not cheap, but it was well worth it and we would happily stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
ARretired,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that we are the best Hampton you have stayed in and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago Adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for 5 days after reading the trip advisor reviews and are glad we did. The room allocated on the 16th floor was very big and contained everything we needed, although it was rather dark.

The front desk staff were very helpful, especially in giving us a late check out as our flight home to the UK was an evening one. They were also very good in recommending restaurants and giving directions.

Breakfast was self service but perfectly adequate and as plentiful as you wish.

The hotel is within walking distance of all Chicago attractions and we did not need public transport or taxis to go anywhere.

It is also next door to the theatre. Here is a little tip. Every day the theatre runs a ballot for tickets for that evenings performance. All you have to do is use a pre printed form available in the box office and put this in the ballot box. Then be there at 5.30 pm and if your name comes out you can get two tickets for $25 each. We did this and got two Book Of Mormon tickets middle seats front row!!!

There is internet connections in each room, ice machines beside the lift and a small fitness room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
JandJ71,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. How exciting that you won the lottery for Book of Mormon! I hope you loved it as much as we all did!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for several days at this property. This is not your typical Hampton Inn, more of a high rise hotel.

Nice hotel, but it is a bit hard to see when you are driving around, as it is located above a theater. I heard a couple of customers say they had to drive around the block several times before they spotted the sign.

Hotel is located in what used to be an old office building. Each floor didn't have that many rooms.

Rooms are nice, with tall ceilings and good furnishings. Bathrooms were nice as well. Room may be a bit on small side, but this is downtown Chicago, so no surprise there.

You have to take an elevator to get to the lobby. This is also the location of the traditional Hampton Inn breakfast area, which was a little cramped.

Service was good. Room service is provided by Italian Village, which is located about a block away.

One odd thing was that the laundry/maid cart was usually parked by the elevator on my floor at all times of the day. Not sure why, not a big deal but it was a bit unprofessional.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High room for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
jbarm,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent experience. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went to see "Book of Mormon" in Chicago and this hotel is connected to the Theater. Doesn't get any easier than that! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Service was friendly and fast. Great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.