We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay there again (location and friendliness)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will stay there again (location and friendliness)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I selected this hotel after googling and reading through many reviews for hotels in Chicago. As I am a light sleeper and like to walk through a city rather than using any kind of transport system, I looked for some nicely located hotel and having some recommendations about the sleep quality. Both expectations (location & sleep quality) very fully satisfied. Even more the staff was very friendly and let you feel welcome. The room itself was - as requested during the reservation - on a high level floor and to the back of the building and I liked the furniture and styling very much. During my visit I walked by many of the other hotels, and was glad, that I had chosen the Hampton in the Theatre District.

Room Tip: High floors to the back and away from the elevators are really quite (light sleeper). Ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
GermanyHarold,

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and our beautiful city! Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am glad our staff provided you with friendly and welcoming service. We want every guest to feel right at home and to get a great nights sleep. To hear that you were fully satisfied makes all of us extremely happy! We can't wait to welcome you back for another trip to our lovely city!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    325
    39
    7
    2
See reviews for
270
345
99
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I travel to Chicago very frequently for business and stay at the Hampton Majestic whenever I can get in. It is well situated for both business and pleasure activities, and is always comfortable, cozy, and quiet. The staff is terrific, the beds super-comfy, and the breakfast reliably good with lots of healthy choices. Even the Internet connectivity (free) is good.

Room decor is quite nice, nothing like a typical small town Hampton Inn. All rooms have high ceilings, deep paint that gives the room a very cozy feel, lots of closet and drawer space for longer stays, and a bathroom with space for all your toiletries and the coffee maker. Everything, from the carpets to the windows to the bathroom, to the bedding, is clean, clean, clean!

I've stayed at The Wit (extremely noisy, bad Internet, cold decor), The Palmer House (small rooms with moldy bathrooms with nowhere to lay out toiletries, dirty carpets, and no coffee in the room!) and many others in Chicago, but always come back to my home away from home, the Majestic.

Room Tip: High floors for better views. Be sure to look up to check out the architectural details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
OneMorePage,

Wow! We could not have asked for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! Our team was so thankful to hear all of your kind words. Clean, quiet, cozy, comfortable, reliable... Home away from home.. Thank you! We strive for all of these things and more when it comes to our guests experiences. We love having you and can't wait to welcome you home again soon.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We selected this hotel for its location 1/2 block from our event, and for its convenience features such as microwave and refrigerator in the room and free breakfast. We were torn between staying here or at the Palmer House which was where our event was located. The Hampton Inn was perfect! The desk staff was great, the room was lovely and clean, the doormen were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was good, and we had everything we needed. I highly recommend this hotel! The Palmer House is fabulous and everyone there was friendly and helpful but you will pay extra for every little thing. Still, at either hotel, you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: The special King room with sofa bed is very spacious, well appointed, and has a microwave and mini r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Twintravelers,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. It sounds like you truly had a great experience all the way around and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The main reason I chose the Hampton Majestic is because of it's location - I was traveling solo and was going to see The Book of Mormon at the Bank of America Theatre next door. The theatre and the hotel are connected - you don't have to go outside to enter the theatre.

I arrived at the hotel around 11:00 am. The lady at the front desk, Brandi (?), was very friendly and helpful. I was able to check in immediately. The room was renovated and clean. I had also requested feather free bedding and the hotel had honored that request.

The hotel is situated downtown in the theatre district. There are many dining options within a block or two. I walked to Michigan Avenue to the Art Institute which took no more than 10 minutes. There are numerous drug stores and department stores (Macy's, Target, Nordstrom) within a few short blocks. I didn't need to ride the subway but noticed the red line and blue line were close by.

Guests of the hotel receive free wifi in their room. In addition, the hotel serves a complimentary hot breakfast from 6 am to 10 am.

Overall, a very good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Hampton Majestic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
BhamBound,

Thank you for such a great review! It sounds like you truly enjoyed your experience at our hotel and also in our lovely city. We love being right here in the loop/Theatre District. Everything is so easy to get too and there is so much to do! Brandi was so pleased to read your kind words. We are very lucky to have her on our team.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about my stay here. The staff was kind, courteous, and very helpful. The location was more than convenient.

A couple of highlights:
The valet parking is fast and courteous.
The young lady who was at the desk when we checked in was very nice and extremely helpful as we planned how we would get around the city.
The continental breakfast is nice and the facilities are clean.
The hotel is within walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions, including the Art Institute, and there is a bus stop right around the corner.
The room was clean. The elevator was clean. The bathroom was clean.

I would definitely stay here again and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The higher the better (to avoid street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Satwhy,

We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. Thank you for the recomendations and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here 4 years ago and rebooked for a last minute business trip. I think the hotel has improved quite a bit. Checkin/out was a breeze especially considering they were doing some work in lobby--seemed to be a quick upgrade or repair. It just steps to the blue line so you can take the train from O'Hare and save yourself $50-60 bucks. I personally am not a fan of the Hampton Inn breakfast as compared to its sister chain Homewood Suites but it is certainly serviceable. And there is coffee, tea and cocoa available all day...fruit too. It is close to shopping and a few good places to eat. Room service comes from a restaurant, just so you know. The only caveat is Iwas given a restaurant list upon checkin from the nice guy at the front desk who said, "They are all really good!" That wasn't my experience. One place was great and one was really not great. So maybe do your own research about where to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
FromNYto?,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I will certainly take a second look at our Restaurant Guide to ensure we are only passing along the best of the best for our guests when it comes to food options. We love hearing about our guests experiences in our beautiful city and use all of them to help guide future guests towards the best places to experience while visiting.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient, clean, close to theatre, shopping etc. The staff- Brandi et al were awesome and helped with arranging airport shuttle service and answering all my questions about the area. Best of all we were a door away from Book of Mormon. (You can even sneak up to the lobby and use the restroom there instead of having to wait at the theatre's long lines at intermission!). rooms are clean, chic and valet is helpful and friendly with taxis and storing luggage after we checked out and waiting for our shuttle. def will come back! alley right next door is where actors from Mormon come out- have your sharpee ready!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
bellcats,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, BookIt.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.