We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the Theatre District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Chill Offer
Ranked #22 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Theatre District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was so conveniently located to museums, shopping, and the theatres. Everyone was very friendly and the rooms were clean and updated. We were able to walk everywhere but the train stop was so close that we took it several times as well. I would definitely stay here again or recommend it to a friend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Kristin598,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It sounds like you had a great experience and we are so happy to hear it! Thank you for the recommendations and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago Adventure.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have read all the great reviews and gave this property a shot when I found a great rate before Christmas. Very nice place in a good location. Rooms clean and well appointed. Staff very polite. If you can find a deal on this hotel, grab it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
McLean4,

I am so glad that we lived up to our wonderful reviews and that you got a great deal! Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. Thank you for your kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago Adventure!


On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during an annual Christmastime visit to Chicago. On previous visits, I stayed at boutique hotels. This was my first stay at the Hampton Majesic. This hotel is top-notch. Upon arrival, I was met by Angel at the front desk and treated as though I were a frequent visitor, even though it was my first stay!

The cleanliness of my room, the common areas and condition of the furniture are remarkable. I slept well on a very comforable bed. This hotel is a gem. It is conveniently located to several Chicago attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
David A,

It is so great to hear that you had such a remarkable experience! Our staff strives to make our guests feel right at home. Angel is a very valued team member and he will be appreciative of your kind words! Hopefully we will see you again next time you decide to visit the lovely city of Chicago!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
445 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 749 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night because we had tickets to the Book of Mormon. The Bank of America Theater is connected to the hotel, which is extremely convenient, especially on a bitterly cold Chicago winter night. It is really nice to be able to leave your coats in your hotel room and not drag them to your seat.

Even if you aren't going to the theater, the hotel is one block away from both the Blue and Red subway lines, the State Street shopping district, and a five minute walk from the Loop EL stations. Also, about a five minute walk away is Millenium Park and the Art Museum.

The biggest advantage to this hotel are the small number of rooms on each floor. The hotel is in a converted early 20th century office building, so it is not laid out like a typical hotel. Because there are so few rooms on each floor of the hotel, it is usually very quiet in the hallways because there aren't a lot of people traipsing back and forth during the night. You will probably get a little bit of traffic noise from the street but if you are going to stay in the city of Chicago, it is never going to be 100% quiet.

In addition to all of this, you get the typical Hampton Inn breakfast, which is free and has a nice mix of hot and cold breakfast items. Our room with one king bed cost $99, which we thought was a steal. Valet parking was $42/night, which adds to the cost but the amount charged for parking is typical for downtown Chicago. Overall, you can't do much better than the Hampton Majestic when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpete02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Jpete02,

We are so glad that you had such a wonderful experience with us at the Hampton Majestic! A lot of our guests find it convenient because of our location and we are so glad to hear that you thought so too. Being in such a large metropolitan city, parking can be a little pricey pretty much anywhere downtown!! The great thing is that we are close to all of the main public transportation options, and taxis are just a hail away. Thank you so much for your awesome review!

We hope that you had a great time at the show, and would love for you to choose us when you visit the city again!!!!!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My spouse and I have stayed at Hampton in the theatre district in Chicago,IL. the first weekend of December for the last several years. Each stay has been wonderful. From the moment we drive up to the Valet parking, to the moment we leave, our experiences have been without an issue. I call to make reservations in early September,directly to the hotel,instead of using Travelocity or other online agencies as we normally do. The hotel customer service represenative for reserving our room is so delightful to speak with. They are sure to ask questions to best accomadate the perfect room for each stay.The beds are comfortable,rooms and entire hotel is clean, and the complementary breakfeast is wonderful.
The entire staff seems to focus on each client, as if they were the only people staying at the hotel. It is still December, and we both are looking forward to next December's stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Larry G,

Fantastic! This is the perfect experience that we want you to have while staying at the Hampton Majestic every time you choose to stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and for this great review as it satisfies us to know that we made your experience fabulous. I’m pleased that you didn’t have any issues while staying with us. Many of our guests prefer to contact the hotel directly since they get better deals than a third party reservations and our customer service representatives are well experienced to answer all of your questions that you might have. We are so pleased that you found everything comfortable, clean and that our team made you feel like you were at home. We always strive to welcome our guest with a smile and make them feel like they are family.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

You do not even have to leave the bldg to get to the majestic. Staff at desk very good. Breakfast was good many choices and an attentive staff. The rooms were very large for a downtown hotel we had 3 adults and they brought a rollaway .

Room Tip: We had a room on the street could hear a little street noise but nothing to complain about
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Buddy2251,


Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I am very pleased that you had a wonderful experience while staying at the Hampton Majestic. We are very lucky to have the Bank of America Theater next to us since it’s very convenient for our guests to not even have to go outside to see a show. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve the product and service we give our guests. Thanks for complimenting our rooms as we always try to accommodate our guest as best as we can so they have and wonderful relaxing experience. I apologize for the street noise, for future reservation we will definitely put you on a higher floor. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed at a few Hampton inns and while always clean and nice they are not what I think of when choosing a downtown hotel. I had tickets to Book of Mormon on a night when there was a winter storm warning. I found this hotel in a search for hotels near the BOA theater. It looked very near to the theater but I didn't know I wouldn't even have to go outside to get into the theater, there is an internal entrance.
Location aside the staff is wonderful, room is great (on top of the nightstand there is a box with 3 outlets & 2 USB ports, there is mouthwash in the bathroom, the celing is 20 ft high, etc.). I'm looking forward to the free breakfast in the morning.
Aside from the BOA theater this is a couple of blocks from the big Macy's on state. All this and I only paid $99 (parking downtown can be 1/3 of that). I enthusiastically recommend this hotel for a night of theater or shopping or any other reason you are visiting the loop area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Donna A,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Yes, we love being in the historic Majestic Building with the Bank of America Theatre. So many of our guests love that they can get to the theatre from the ground floor of the hotel, it’s so convenient to leave your jacket in your hotel room.


You undoubtedly will want to see the Broadway smash musical “The Book of Mormon” for a second time! If you do, we look forward to having you back at the Hampton Majestic!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#94 of 182 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 6,784 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing