We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 169 hotels in Chicago
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have read all the great reviews and gave this property a shot when I found a great rate before Christmas. Very nice place in a good location. Rooms clean and well appointed. Staff very polite. If you can find a deal on this hotel, grab it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
McLean4,

I am so glad that we lived up to our wonderful reviews and that you got a great deal! Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. Thank you for your kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago Adventure!


On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    298
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
252
330
93
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during an annual Christmastime visit to Chicago. On previous visits, I stayed at boutique hotels. This was my first stay at the Hampton Majesic. This hotel is top-notch. Upon arrival, I was met by Angel at the front desk and treated as though I were a frequent visitor, even though it was my first stay!

The cleanliness of my room, the common areas and condition of the furniture are remarkable. I slept well on a very comforable bed. This hotel is a gem. It is conveniently located to several Chicago attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
David A,

It is so great to hear that you had such a remarkable experience! Our staff strives to make our guests feel right at home. Angel is a very valued team member and he will be appreciative of your kind words! Hopefully we will see you again next time you decide to visit the lovely city of Chicago!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
702 helpful votes 702 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night because we had tickets to the Book of Mormon. The Bank of America Theater is connected to the hotel, which is extremely convenient, especially on a bitterly cold Chicago winter night. It is really nice to be able to leave your coats in your hotel room and not drag them to your seat.

Even if you aren't going to the theater, the hotel is one block away from both the Blue and Red subway lines, the State Street shopping district, and a five minute walk from the Loop EL stations. Also, about a five minute walk away is Millenium Park and the Art Museum.

The biggest advantage to this hotel are the small number of rooms on each floor. The hotel is in a converted early 20th century office building, so it is not laid out like a typical hotel. Because there are so few rooms on each floor of the hotel, it is usually very quiet in the hallways because there aren't a lot of people traipsing back and forth during the night. You will probably get a little bit of traffic noise from the street but if you are going to stay in the city of Chicago, it is never going to be 100% quiet.

In addition to all of this, you get the typical Hampton Inn breakfast, which is free and has a nice mix of hot and cold breakfast items. Our room with one king bed cost $99, which we thought was a steal. Valet parking was $42/night, which adds to the cost but the amount charged for parking is typical for downtown Chicago. Overall, you can't do much better than the Hampton Majestic when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Jpete02,

We are so glad that you had such a wonderful experience with us at the Hampton Majestic! A lot of our guests find it convenient because of our location and we are so glad to hear that you thought so too. Being in such a large metropolitan city, parking can be a little pricey pretty much anywhere downtown!! The great thing is that we are close to all of the main public transportation options, and taxis are just a hail away. Thank you so much for your awesome review!

We hope that you had a great time at the show, and would love for you to choose us when you visit the city again!!!!!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My spouse and I have stayed at Hampton in the theatre district in Chicago,IL. the first weekend of December for the last several years. Each stay has been wonderful. From the moment we drive up to the Valet parking, to the moment we leave, our experiences have been without an issue. I call to make reservations in early September,directly to the hotel,instead of using Travelocity or other online agencies as we normally do. The hotel customer service represenative for reserving our room is so delightful to speak with. They are sure to ask questions to best accomadate the perfect room for each stay.The beds are comfortable,rooms and entire hotel is clean, and the complementary breakfeast is wonderful.
The entire staff seems to focus on each client, as if they were the only people staying at the hotel. It is still December, and we both are looking forward to next December's stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Larry G,

Fantastic! This is the perfect experience that we want you to have while staying at the Hampton Majestic every time you choose to stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and for this great review as it satisfies us to know that we made your experience fabulous. I’m pleased that you didn’t have any issues while staying with us. Many of our guests prefer to contact the hotel directly since they get better deals than a third party reservations and our customer service representatives are well experienced to answer all of your questions that you might have. We are so pleased that you found everything comfortable, clean and that our team made you feel like you were at home. We always strive to welcome our guest with a smile and make them feel like they are family.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

You do not even have to leave the bldg to get to the majestic. Staff at desk very good. Breakfast was good many choices and an attentive staff. The rooms were very large for a downtown hotel we had 3 adults and they brought a rollaway .

Room Tip: We had a room on the street could hear a little street noise but nothing to complain about
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Buddy2251,


Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I am very pleased that you had a wonderful experience while staying at the Hampton Majestic. We are very lucky to have the Bank of America Theater next to us since it’s very convenient for our guests to not even have to go outside to see a show. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve the product and service we give our guests. Thanks for complimenting our rooms as we always try to accommodate our guest as best as we can so they have and wonderful relaxing experience. I apologize for the street noise, for future reservation we will definitely put you on a higher floor. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed at a few Hampton inns and while always clean and nice they are not what I think of when choosing a downtown hotel. I had tickets to Book of Mormon on a night when there was a winter storm warning. I found this hotel in a search for hotels near the BOA theater. It looked very near to the theater but I didn't know I wouldn't even have to go outside to get into the theater, there is an internal entrance.
Location aside the staff is wonderful, room is great (on top of the nightstand there is a box with 3 outlets & 2 USB ports, there is mouthwash in the bathroom, the celing is 20 ft high, etc.). I'm looking forward to the free breakfast in the morning.
Aside from the BOA theater this is a couple of blocks from the big Macy's on state. All this and I only paid $99 (parking downtown can be 1/3 of that). I enthusiastically recommend this hotel for a night of theater or shopping or any other reason you are visiting the loop area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Donna A,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Yes, we love being in the historic Majestic Building with the Bank of America Theatre. So many of our guests love that they can get to the theatre from the ground floor of the hotel, it’s so convenient to leave your jacket in your hotel room.


You undoubtedly will want to see the Broadway smash musical “The Book of Mormon” for a second time! If you do, we look forward to having you back at the Hampton Majestic!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family and I travel here every year. We love the Theatre District (the location is fantastic for all the walking we do!). Everyone knows our names and they are so sweet. The entire staff is so devoted to making everyone's stay magnificent, and they do it so well!

This year we were introduced to Brandi at the reservation desk. I see that she is mentioned several times for her amazing customer service. She not only went above and beyond with us, we noticed that she is just stellar with everyone! We walked in and she made a packet of things to do and then made a guide for us that next day. She is just that good!

The hotel and location is just charming. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Tya D,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back next year!

I am so glad that you were able to receive such fantastic service from Brandi. She is a great asset to our team. I will make sure to recognize her for the excellent service that she provided to you. She is becoming quite the STAR here on Tripadvisor and we are so thankful for all she does for our guests!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.