We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the price is right, the location is awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“If the price is right, the location is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rates at this hotel seem to vary tremendously--anywhere from $80 to $300 or more a night. I was fortunate enough to get a very good deal for a stay on Thanksgiving night. The rates skyrocketed on Black Friday, though, so I chose to move to another hotel after staying just one night.

When the price is right, this property offers the best aspects of both a chain and a boutique hotel. It doesn't really feel like a Hampton Inn, but it does offer the standard services (like free wi-fi and hot breakfast) you'd find at a Hampton in the suburbs.

Entering the hotel is odd. There's a sort-of "micro-lobby" at street level next to the Bank of America Theatre. An employee (who seemed more like a guard than a clerk or bellman) verified that I had a reservation and then directed me to an elevator that took me to the real lobby that is located above the theatre. I checked in there and then proceeded up another elevator to my room.

My room was fairly spacious for an older downtown hotel, though not as large as the "cookie-cutter" rooms at the hotels out by O'Hare. It had more character than I'd expect at a Hampton Inn, with a unique shape and an interesting burgundy color scheme. The view was nothing special. Mostly I saw an alley, though if I craned my head I could see the nearby buildings on State Street.

All the room's furnishings were pleasant, and everything was immaculate. I'm not a fan of the stark white bedding Hampton has gone to in recent years (I'd rather have an old-fashioned comforter in neutral colors), but that's the chain's issue--not this hotel's. The shower provided good pressure, and the wi-fi worked well. The complimentary breakfast was very excellent.

The hotel provided luggage storage (at the desk in the little mini-lobby at street level). The service is theoretically complimentary, though tips are expected. It was nice to be able to leave my bag while I went out exploring during the day.

Probably the best asset of this hotel is its location. It's right in the heart of the loop, less than a block from the State Street shopping district. There are dozens of outstanding restaurants within a very short walk. It's also just steps from both the blue and red line subways, which provide cheap and easy access to the entire city.

On future trips to Chicago, I'd definitely consider staying here again. I'll check the rates, and if they're competitive, I'll certainly book the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
dmbia,

I just wanted to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the product and service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    298
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
252
330
93
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. This time, my daughter and I stayed here for a college visit to UIC and to see a show. The rooms were large, clean and the beds were comfortable. The wifi is free and worked great. The breakfast was tasty and we enjoyed the free coffee/tea in the lobby while we were waiting for our car to be brought to the hotel. It was great to park our car and use the subway, which is easy to access. The parking attendants were very helpful and stored our luggage after we checked out and until we needed our car. They also helped me out of the city by giving me directions to the interstate. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
tmarie72,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. I sounds like you had a wonderful experience all the way around and we are so pleased to hear it!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We found this hotel on tripadvisor. After reading the reviews we choose to stay here. Everything was fantastic. We were on the 14th floor and heard very little noise. On our floor there were only about 7 rooms so that was nice. The staff were fantastic.At breakfast this morning I noticed the concierge gave great service to the children in the room. Just a nice touch which she didn't have to do. Rooms were very nice and clean. We had two nice size queen beds with ample room for both of us. The bathroom was very nice as well. The breakfast was very nice. We were able to walk easily to the shopping in the loop. The subway was very close. We were only about 3 stops away from the shopping/John Hancock building etc. Everything was very convenient.There were maps available in the lobby which were very useful. There were a couple of computers with large screens in the lobby which were very useful. Wifi is available but it needed some extra information which we didn't have. Wasn't important to us so I just used the computer in the lobby. My friend and I agreed we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Kayaksup,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I am glad you found us here on Tripadvisor and that your experience was fantastic. I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hampton Majestic is a small hotel in Chicago's Theater District and is conveniently located -right near both the red and blue subway line, walking distance to State Street and the Art Institute.

Simple yet cozy with all the amenities. The lobby doubles as the business area/breakfast service area and whlle not plush or showy, it is comfy and accomodating. The morning breakfast buffet (included in the price) was tasty. 24 hour coffee service and afternoon cookies were a welcome treat. Wifi is also included, making this a really easy visit. All the bases were covered.

Staff was courteous, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Mary C,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us and we are so glad to hear it.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had an awesome experience. Rooms were large, very clean, and extremely quiet. We barely heard any traffic noise due to the soundproof windows. The location is fabulous---1/2 block from the red line and blue line, city Target around the corner and Macy's a little over a block away. The Christkindlmarket is just two blocks away. The only complaint was the elevators were really, REALLY slow one morning. I'm assuming it was due to the large volume of guests checking out, but we ended up using the stairs to get down---21 floors! But, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
morgan88,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am sorry that you had a difficult time with catching an elevator and even more so that you took the stairs all the way down! During high traffic hours, they can take a little longer than normal. However, I am so glad to hear that our location was perfect for your experience and that your room was nice and quiet!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights while attending a radiology conference. Agree with the majority of reviews about the helpfulness of staff. Great central location and most attractions and restaurants easy to walk to. However, if you are short of time, no taxi ride cost more than $10 (including tip). The cooked breakfast is 'interesting!' but fortunately there were the usual fair of fruit, cereals, cakes etc. I did though, not appreciate the disposable cutlery/cups etc, (I suppose they are considered environmentally friendly ??). Otherwise, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
4mart,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your 6 nights at the Hampton Majestic over RSNA.

Hampton hotels offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast selection. Because Hampton Hotels do not have a restaurant on site, of this they do not have a full kitchen with facilities to clean serve ware.

I understand you concern regarding the environmental affect of this. This is why in January of 2010 all Hamptons switched from Styrofoam & plastic to 100% bio degradable utensils & plates. Depending on regional availability, each Hampton uses either Taterware or Enviroware. These products are 100% biodegradable, & also made from 20% recycled material.

We would love to have you back at the Hampton majestic next year for RSNA!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A Chicago native recommended this Hampton and it did not disappoint! Nestled in the theatre district, this Hampton is classical yet functional. Good sized rooms, great staff and very close to several attractions and iconic restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the high levels above the "l"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
JohnnyReb007,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. Thank you and also to the Chicago native that recommended us. I love the Title of your review as well!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;