We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hampton Majestic is a small hotel in Chicago's Theater District and is conveniently located -right near both the red and blue subway line, walking distance to State Street and the Art Institute.

Simple yet cozy with all the amenities. The lobby doubles as the business area/breakfast service area and whlle not plush or showy, it is comfy and accomodating. The morning breakfast buffet (included in the price) was tasty. 24 hour coffee service and afternoon cookies were a welcome treat. Wifi is also included, making this a really easy visit. All the bases were covered.

Staff was courteous, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Mary C,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us and we are so glad to hear it.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    680
    275
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
230
303
88
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had an awesome experience. Rooms were large, very clean, and extremely quiet. We barely heard any traffic noise due to the soundproof windows. The location is fabulous---1/2 block from the red line and blue line, city Target around the corner and Macy's a little over a block away. The Christkindlmarket is just two blocks away. The only complaint was the elevators were really, REALLY slow one morning. I'm assuming it was due to the large volume of guests checking out, but we ended up using the stairs to get down---21 floors! But, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
morgan88,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am sorry that you had a difficult time with catching an elevator and even more so that you took the stairs all the way down! During high traffic hours, they can take a little longer than normal. However, I am so glad to hear that our location was perfect for your experience and that your room was nice and quiet!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights while attending a radiology conference. Agree with the majority of reviews about the helpfulness of staff. Great central location and most attractions and restaurants easy to walk to. However, if you are short of time, no taxi ride cost more than $10 (including tip). The cooked breakfast is 'interesting!' but fortunately there were the usual fair of fruit, cereals, cakes etc. I did though, not appreciate the disposable cutlery/cups etc, (I suppose they are considered environmentally friendly ??). Otherwise, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
4mart,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your 6 nights at the Hampton Majestic over RSNA.

Hampton hotels offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast selection. Because Hampton Hotels do not have a restaurant on site, of this they do not have a full kitchen with facilities to clean serve ware.

I understand you concern regarding the environmental affect of this. This is why in January of 2010 all Hamptons switched from Styrofoam & plastic to 100% bio degradable utensils & plates. Depending on regional availability, each Hampton uses either Taterware or Enviroware. These products are 100% biodegradable, & also made from 20% recycled material.

We would love to have you back at the Hampton majestic next year for RSNA!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A Chicago native recommended this Hampton and it did not disappoint! Nestled in the theatre district, this Hampton is classical yet functional. Good sized rooms, great staff and very close to several attractions and iconic restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the high levels above the "l"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
JohnnyReb007,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. Thank you and also to the Chicago native that recommended us. I love the Title of your review as well!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After much contemplation on hotels in Chicago, we chose Hampton Majestic for it's location in between Union Station and the shops on Michigan Avenue. Very delighted to have stayed here. From the beginning, customer service was exceptional. Big shout out to Brandi Cartmill who helped us get situated in our room as soon as she possibly could, for helping us maneuver the bus routes and her overall warm and kind personality. The breakfast was definitely enough for us, we travelled with 2 adults and 3 young ladies. I also enjoyed the 24 hour coffee and tea that was available. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Angelina M,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. Brandi was very thankful to read your kind words. We are so lucky to have her on our team. Thank you!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I actually wrote to the general manager to express my appreciation to his staff for their warm hosting of our group during my daughter's wedding weekend. In particular, I wanted to thank the front desk personnel who were hospitable and warm to us and to all of our guests: Leighann, Oscar, and Brandi. Their friendly smiles and personal attention were warmly felt. In addition, Leighann delivered a thoughtfully and beautifully prepared gift basket to our room where the bride and her friends were preparing. This gesture added to the excitement of the day! We were also appreciative of Keisha of the Group Sales department, and to all of the gentlemen door attendants who greeted us with smiles and cheerful greetings!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
daileyadventurer,

First, thank you for your shining review of your experience at our property! Second, we had so much fun with your family and friends. Our very own Oscar had a wonderful time putting together the gift basket for the girls in the wedding and I am so glad you all had a great time! Thank you so much for all of the kind words, we appreciate it so much and can't wait to welcome any and all of your family and friends back to the Majestic.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for a week over Thanksgiving. Staff was helpful. Rooms were adequately sized, comfortable, and quiet given the location. The location can't be beat. State street shopping is right outside the door. Mag Mile is short subway ride away. The Red Line is around the corner, and the Loop Lines are just a block away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
josefree,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am so glad our location was perfect for your Chicago Adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.