We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse was Amazing, King Room was 'Meh'.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Takoma Park, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Penthouse was Amazing, King Room was 'Meh'.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We got upgraded to one of the Penthouses (on the second to top floor, why?) because of a late check in and it was *out of the world*. One of my top 5 hotel rooms ever -- automated blinds, huge tub, giant bathroom, full dining room, it goes on and on...

Our second night (which we booked the next morning) we had to downgrade to a king room. It was your basic modern hotel room in a big city. Little of the penthouse feel carried over.

Also, the restauarnt is great, Try the "brunch boxes'!! Yum.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
karmavore-

Thank you for the great posting and pictures of our Penthouse Loft Suite. I am sorry that we couldn't keep you in the suite for you additional night.

While we can't retrofit all of the elements of the Penthouse into the rest of our inventory, we are looking to upgrade elements of the rooms in the early part of next year. I'm confident that you will enjoy the "refresh".

Thank you for your review and we'll see you back in Chicago soon.

Best.
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    580
    137
    56
    32
See reviews for
291
886
142
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were on a couples vacation from Tampa, FL. Great hotel for the value in combination with flight thru Expedia. Great location in the heart of downtown. Room was nice & the staff was very friendly. Flight arrived early & was able to check in to our rooms early. Amazing 24 hour complimentary gym. 1 complaint about the rooms, even though we were on the 15th floor we can still hear the street traffic so you can imagine the lower levels.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Sizzlinwok-

First of all, one of the best TA member names I've seen! Love it.

Thank you for the great review and I'm glad we were able to accomodate your early arrival. We try our very best to make "check-in" time when you arrive. Thanks for pointing out our great complimentary (and exclusive) Gym. Our founding partner was part of the team the created Equinox Fitness Clubs, so having a great Gym was very important to us.

I appreciate the kind words from Tampa, one of my favorite places in the states! Hope to see you back up this way soon.

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

A question we were asked in abundance when we stayed at the James, and no hotel since has been able to match their immaculate customer care.

Staff members always at hand to arrange cars, reserve tables, book shows, you name it, they achieved it. Bending over backwards must be a way of life for the employees as the answer was always "yes sir".
Relatively speaking, this standard of meeting customer needs and attention to detail is more than worth the money it costs to enjoy this hotel.

As a city break hotel the James comes well equipped. The rooms are contemporary, maintained to a high standard and well proportioned. Prime Steakhouse is delicious, easily one of the finest steakhouses chicago has to offer. The location is superb, seconds from all Chicago's highlights. Very well appointed fitness and spa facilities.

All accounted for the James ticked all the boxes as a high standard hotel should. But the unrivaled guest service during our stay ensured it was beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
BigNeill-

Wow! What a review. Almost sounds like I wrote it myself! Thank you Thank you! I enjoyed reading this at our weekly staff meeting and have proudly posted it on our brag board.

"Bending over backwards' is part of our DNA and we work really hard to insure that "no" is not an option. We call this being "Guest-Centric", where the guest is the center of everything we do. We are fortunate to have great team members who genuinely care and live this philosophy.

I hope have the occasion to travel to the states again soon and if so, that you'll stay with us. Thanks for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor nation!

Best.
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissPT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My partner and have just returned from a holiday in Chicago; 2 weeks at Hotel Monaco and 1 week at The James.
There had a been a couple of snags at the Monaco (neither serious, good stay overall) so we were looking forward to the James.
On arrival we were checked in promptly, and were told that we being upgraded. When we went up to the room we were intially a bit disappointed- it was a bit on the small side (but adequate), and on further inspection there were signs of wear; furniture scuffed in places, messy sealant round the window, a freyed bathmat and a hole in a pillow. We had to ask for an extra robe and slippers, both swiftly resolved. None serious and didn't impact upon our stay (bathmat and pillow covers replaced. Forgot about sealant). The design ethos, minimalistic, was perhaps a bit bare but it was modern and relaxing- Monaco had stripey wallpaper and red upholstery, so James was a nice change.

Couple of other small things; late check out not possible (we asked for 2 additional hours. But they did keep our bags, so again, resolved) as the hotel was fully booked and the bikes were not available (as much our fault for not booking sooner).

Overall our stay was positive. In the evening the room had a nice view over the city lights, turndown service with treats (tasty choc-chip cookies), very comfortable bed and the location is great. Plently of eateries and bars round about (we ate twice at Mia Francesca on Chestnut and Bandera on Michigan. Rockbottom Brewery is good pub option, food OK).

No problem with noise, we were on 14th floor, but it is the middle of a city so expect to hear sirens etc.

The bar makes a good cocktail, although one of the staff members was a bit weird and kept asking if we had a tab or if we had paid. Cocktail prices were reasonable, $10-12.

We didn't use spa or gym. Spa quite pricey- as in UK hotels- but loass of places round about offering a mani and pedi for $40, but don't expect luxury!

Trader Joe's across the road is good for supplies- health food bent, Whole Foods market about 5 minutes. We had breakfast, and very good coffee, from Eleaven across the road; bagels, muffins, omlettes etc. Further up on Clark there is a place called Tempo Cafe, classic American breakfasts which are available all day.

Transport not as handy as the Loop, but OK. Most things within walking distance anyway (within 30 mins walk).

In short, I'd recommend the hotel as long as the price was right (we got an offer through hotels.com). Room was nice, products lovely, service on the whole good and good nitelife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
MissPT-

Thank you for the kind review of The James.

I'm glad all the little issues got addressed in an efficient manner, regret that they were there to begin with.

We offer 2pm check in and check out times as a standard and do our very best to extend beyond those times whenever possible. I am sorry a later check out was not available on your departure day.

Thank you again and hope to see you back in Chicago one day.

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed at the James in July for a family vacation. Very nice accommodations. The hotel is in a great location. I received a great rate through Hotwire. I believe the hotel can be quite pricey, so you may want to try Hotwire. Hotel provides robes, turn down service, and cookies each evening. Nice size flat screen tv, and bathrooms were very nice as well. We enjoyed our experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Wonderful hotel. Location was fantastic - we could walk to everything we wanted to see. great pillows and mattresses, room amenities and staff. Contrary to what I'd read here, we were treated like first class guests though we got a terrific deal on Hotwire. We had lots of questions and requests and the concierges handled everything for us - including getting tickets to a 'sold out' baseball game. The gym was beyond expectations - obviously someone
very knowledgeable. Though, apparently hotels need to have a spa and/or pool for 5 stars, but other than those things, this place had it all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
BroniaV-

Wow! Thank you for such a great recap of your experience at The James. I appreciate you sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor nation.

I hope to welcome you back to The James in the not to distant future!

Best
Patrick Hatton

PS- We do have a great spa on site and relationships with some places to swim in the area, so pack your swim trunks next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at the James hotel for a 40th birthday. The location was excellent for shopping and restaurants, but also very loud. The room was horrible. VERY SMALL. We had a double/double and it was the size of a college dorm room, plus completely white walls and linens. Absolutely no color except for one accent pillow. It was very sterile and uninviting. We were on the 11th floor and the lobby for the elevator was dark and done in red and balck with minimal lighting. It looked like the entrance to hell, if not a haunted house.
Staff was very nice and accomodating. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrated cultural attractions - Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-filtered water - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown (upon request) - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, an intimate and unique cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.