We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Hip Modern Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ultra Hip Modern Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I have stayed at The James approximately 10+ nights over the past year and I love this place. I swap between here and The Sofitel Water Tower Place based upon price and availability. Location is central to all River North attractions and, while it is on Rush Street, it is a few blocks south of the party district so it stays relatively quiet. There is a Trader Joe's across the street, which is great if you want an in-room picnic (read on). The heart of Michigan Avenue shopping is a block to the East

The decor is ultra contemporary and clubby, yet the rooms are very comfortable. Lots of great examples of modern and mid-century furniture. Beds are very comfortable with great linens. All rooms I have stayed in have been very clean and well maintained. Plasma HDTV, complimentary water, nice bath product, and nice touches like dimmer switches for most room lighting, and ipod compatible radio. The feel is minimalist, but not spare. The staff is very professional. The downstairs bar can sometimes be a good spot, but it seems to be mostly hotel guests and not many locals. J Bar, located next door, really gets going later in the evening and seems to cater to the 30-something crowd (but this 40-something has had a lot of fun with friends there too). The David Burke Primehouse restauarant has amazing steaks. Definitely worth the splurge on their 30, 45, and 60 day aged steaks.

Typical rooms are of average size. The real treat at this hotel are their "Loft Suites".
The hotel is not particularly tall and is surrounded by taller buildings, so there really are almost no views. It is also U shaped in plan and the interior rooms face a parking deck with a limited view of Wrigley Tower in the distance. Ingeniously, these interior rooms have been designed as extra-large rockstar suites - so no need for a view. The suites feature a living area with couch and a couple of chairs, a wet bar stocked with top-shelf liquor, cocktail shaker, refrigerator, etc., a small dining table, and large plasma TV. The bathroom has a large glass shower with separate tub. Great Kiels bath product. Nice robes.
The bedroom is a king size platform bed in an alcove off the living area and has its own Plasma TV. Lastly, on the other side of the living area is what can only be described as a "party pit" - which consists of a queen matress platform surrounded by a drink shelf and with an LCD projector to show DVDs on the wall. Yeah, really. Order up the bottles of Cristal and invite the groupies. It would make a great room for a long romantic weekend.

Prices are all over the board for this hotel depending on occupancy and the time of year. I have stayed from the high $100's but its not unusual to see it get into the $400s per night. You just have to check.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    602
    151
    59
    33
See reviews for
302
915
145
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor, mi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

I have stayed in many different hotels in Chicago, including two of the high end properties. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and I really think it is a hidden gem. Great location, nice lobby bar and very friendly staff. The rooms have nice touches (they might take a look at their windows though-they leak like sieves and it was hard to keep the room warm)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I have stayed at the James more than once for short business/leisure trips to Chicago. It is consistently pleasing and clean, and I love its modernity! Friendly staff, too. Stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the James May 2008 whilst visiting Chicago and found the hotel very pleasant. I am a bif fan of modern boutique hotels and this was just that. It was trendy, not too big, not too small and in a great location.

The rooms are modern, a good size and clean. The only downside is theres not much of a view but you are in a big city so not many picturesque views around here!

We used the gym a couple of times which was well equipped and there was also great internet access in the lobby. The staff were also very helpful.

We ate in the David Burkes steakhouse one night and the food was fantastic, however on the pricey side so maybe for a special occasion. We then went to J bar which was very good music and got packed fairly quickly. I would also recommend drinks at the top of the hancock tower. Fantastic views of Chicago. We also went up the sears tower in the daylight which is worth a visit. One thing you must do whilst in Chicago is go to a Cubs baseball game. We had such a great time!

I would definetely stay at the James hotel again. Great overall stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

What a great place to kick-off an exciting and adventurous evening in the beautiful city of Chicago. This hotel has a great location placing it within walking distance of some of the finest bars, restaurants, and departments stores the city has to offer, some of which are right inside the hotel. My check-in was speedy, and the entire staff was friendly and most helpful in answering all of my questions. The contemporary room has amazing atmosphere and boasts all of the high-end amenities a person could ask for including flat screen televisions, stereo system, and the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in. I highly recommend the James for an impeccable weekend getaway or an extended vacation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

The James hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is in walking distance to great food, shopping and sightseeing. The staff at the James hotel went above and beyone to make my stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

We recently stayed at The James in Chicago. It's a lovely hotel and the rooms are really nice. We had a suite which included a lounge area with flat screen plus a flat screen telly by the bed. The bathrooms are lovely and the Kiehl's toiletries are a lovely touch.

We really liked this hotel. The service was great, they have umbrellas you can borrow for those rainy, windy days. It's a great spot to shop, go for dinner, see the sights.

We would recommend this hotel. It's not a cheap hotel but is great.

Just around the block are two great restaurants, The Grand Luxe Cafe (beware, the portions here are huge!) and Heaven on Seven (amazing, particularly if you love proper soul food).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrated cultural attractions - Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-filtered water - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown (upon request) - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, an intimate and unique cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.