We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for shopping the Magnificent Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for shopping the Magnificent Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The James is a great hotel with modern design and comfortable rooms. Perfect location for Shopping the Magnificent Mile, and convenient to many great restaurants and Chicago's best attractions. The staff is friendly and helpful. They greet you with a smile and aim to please!

Room Tip: I like to be above the 8th floor....higher than the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear ConsultantCMC,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and modern aesthetic. The best compliment I can receive is that it was our helpful team that assisted in making your visit a great one, and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    551
    135
    55
    30
See reviews for
276
851
139
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The location could not be better --- but the service is lacking completely. We stayed at the hotel the weekend of July 26. We had prepaid for an upgraded room and then been upgraded from that. Check-in is at 3 pm - but our rooms weren't ready until 7 pm. The front desk made constant excuses and then gave us cards for free drinks in the bar. We went to the bar to use the drink tickets and were told they were no good after we ordered $60 worth of drinks for 4 people. When we finally got to the room it was apparent the ventilation/AC wasn't working. The front desk staff and management did very little, even the next day. Our valet was comped. I did the online review and was honest and then Christine Helin, the front desk mgr, immediately followed up with an email, apologized, and said she was sending a certificate for a free night. That was several weeks ago and we have received NOTHING. I have followed up with her on telephone and email and there has been NO response. Pretty apparent this was just lip service.

The location of this property is incredible. I just wish the service and decor and cleanliness matched the amazing location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Pollack S,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It is never our standard for a guest to leave unhappy as you did, which is why we had followed up with you after receiving your review. What we cannot agree with is your statement that the offer a free night was simply talk on our part. Christine has been in contact with you multiple times over the past 11 days, and has informed you that the gift certificate is on the way, although it takes time to prepare and send these. We would never promise something falsely and I am sorry that you feel that we would do this after multiple attempts to improve your experience with us. Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and if you have any further questions regarding the status of your gift certificate you may direct them to jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very clean and amazing staff! I live just outside of Chicago and made this my weekend get away!

At every step the staff was ready and willing to help make my stay easy and. Accommodating! I know I will be back


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Wesley G,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can receive about our hotel is to hear that it was the efforts of our team that made your stay amazing. I have shared with them your compliments of their accommodating attitude is what made your visit amazing. I am honored that you plan to return the next time you are downtown, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the James Hotel Aug 6-8. The hotel was able to provide an early check in with 15 minutes of my arrival. The hotel is of the minimal persuasion, but that is of my liking. My room was on the 8th floor away from the elevators. I was able to sleep restfully each evening. Complimentary newspapers (Wall Street Journal, USA Today and Chicago Tribune) were available each day. The Steakhouse is on the expensive side within the restaurant, but the location is outstanding being one block off of the Magnificent Mile. Complementary rides within the CBD are available through the front desk. Bicycles are available to use as we'll complementary. Water (triple filtered) is available in your room (also complementary). I was pleased the hotel as a 2:00 pm check out, yes 2:00 pm! This was greet to wrap up a noon conference then return to the hotel to check off. The front desk was very helpful. Taxis ready if you need them. I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Dean J,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am appreciative of your compliments of our bicycles, 2:00 PM check out, and especially our front desk team. Most of all, it is an honor to receive such a generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The James is a hotel with minimalistic decor, rooms are functional, not luxurious. Dark carpet in room makes it look a bit worn. Very friendly staff. Fabulous location. Overall nice hotel but probably more for younger crowd. Only very expensive steakhouse in hotel. But lots of restos around.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Nucita100,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your compliments of our convenient location and friendly team, and that they attributed to an overall pleasant experience. I am sorry that you did not feel that this was a luxury experience, as we aim to exceed all of our guests' expectations. I thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention so that these issue may be addressed. I hope that we will have the opportunity to re-gain your confidence in us and welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a beautiful modern hotel. Fantastic exercise facility. Knowledgeable staff and helpful concierge. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. Very happy with our stay at "The James". Would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear colombiaoranje,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our gym, comfortable rooms, and service provided by our concierge team. Most of all, it is humbling that you would like to return, and on behalf of the entire James team, we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at The James for a 3 day business trip. I felt like someone special from the time I got out of the taxi. When I had arrived, I realized that I lost my driver's license somewhere from the time I got on the plane until check-in when the associate asked me for ID. The concierge was very helpful in providing me with phone numbers to call to report lost and found. She was very sympathetic and was full of positive energy, that I didn't let it spoil the whole trip.

The room was very comfortable and a little eclectic. Had a very hip ambiance. View was not so great as I was looking at the back of another building. Also, I was a little annoyed that I was charged $40 for damaged linen (fitted sheet only). Room rate was not bad because I got the conference rate.

But, the hotel hosted the conference very well. And felt special even when checking out and hopping into the taxi to get back to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear tripsrfun07,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed having the conference with us, and especially that our team made your visit memorable. I apologize for any inconvenience regarding the linen charge; if you have any questions about this, feel free to reach out to either our front desk or accounting department who will be able to look into this for you, by calling (312) 337-1000 or emailing me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.