We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Exclusive
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone interested in being close to any major attractions. Literally steps away from Michigan Ave and minutes away from Navy Pier. The staff is excellent!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Lashanda J,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that our location was convenient to the places you wanted to visit while in town, and especially that it was our excellent team that made your visit a memorable one. It is truly humbling to receive such a generous recommendation to fellow travelers and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    632
    159
    60
    34
See reviews for
324
952
147
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great value for location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. Overall a good value for Chicago. The only issue I had was that the overhead lighting was tricky to change. Otherwise it was a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Matthew A,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our friendly team and comfortable rooms. I apologize for any inconvenience with the overhead lighting, but glad that it did not detract from an overall pleasant visit. Thank you again for writing, and on behalf of all of us at The James we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Chicago is an amazing city. The James is ideally located and the staff cannot be any friendlier. Advice on where to go, places to eat etc. Lovely room, comfy bed. Could hear some street noise but the sirens just added to the atmosphere. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear HayzieD,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our convenient location, comfortable beds, and most of all, the friendly service provided by our team. I am humbled by your generous recommendation to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor and sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The James hotel is very centrally located for seeing Chicago attractions and restaurants. Being close to Eataly and a Whole Foods was very convenient as we were travelling with two picky eaters. The hotel staff were fabulous and the rooms were pleasant and spotless. The hotel gave our children very thoughtful loot bags with a beautiful colouring book, wooden aeroplane, crayons, and a cookbook. This is a charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear brownkitten,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is a pleasure to hear that your children enjoyed our Lil' James amenities and that both the location and staff also assisted in making your visit a great one. Thank you for your recommendation of us on TripAdvisor and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Seven-night, one person in a twin-bed room (upgraded at check-in from single- to king-size beds). Online booking with 20% discount
Location: less than a minute to the Magnificent Mile and major boutiques. Very central, with easy access to most of the major attractions in central Chicago, either by walking or public transport
Room: spacious, very clean, well-maintained with easy to use facilities. Amenities as expected. Well-stocked mini-bar
Staff: all very helpful and friendly, requests were seen to promptly or more quickly than expected; the concierge staff are almost like local travel agents, looking up, booking and printing tickets on my behalf
Dining: Burke's Primehouse provides the on-site and in-room dining menus, reputed to be the best steakhouse in Chicago. Food was very good
Communications: guests have access to complimentary wireless, which is apparently secure, but does not require separate log-in or passwords
Getting there: 45USD (including tip) for taxi from O'Hare Airport; also accessible via the 'L' train network, on the blue line, but the nearest blue line station is probably a 20-minute walk to the hotel, so best get a taxi from the station to the hotel (about 5USD)
Other: Hotel offers a complimentary town car for driving guests to locations within a 2-mile radius of the hotel. First-come, first-served basis. The hotel gym is also very well-equipped

Very happy with hotel experience, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear jyunkim,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate you for writing such a detailed review regarding all aspects of your stay, and I am truly delighted to hear that our car service, gym, and David Burke's Primehouse all attributed to an overall great experience. I have shared your compliments of the concierge team with them and how they assisted in making your trip to the city memorable. Most of all, it is an honor that you would return again and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Il
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

to put it simply...this will be our go-to hotel when we stay in the city.
everything was sleek, clean and inviting. and the service was polite and accommodating. i really have a hard time finding any faults with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear kch44,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that after your first visit, you will exclusively stay with us when in the city. We truly appreciate your loyalty to us and your generous compliments of our team. Thank you again for writing, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are looking for amazing service and a convenient location, The James Hotel is your best choice! The hotel is centrally located, has a courtesy car to take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius, and a delicious steakhouse for dining (as well as an amazing brunch).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Kimi M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our complimentary car service, David Burke's Primehouse, and especially our amazing service. Your generous recommendation of us is truly appreciated and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#35 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#21 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrated cultural attractions - Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-filtered water - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown (upon request) - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, an intimate and unique cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.