We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with AMAZING service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Columbus
1 review
“Classy hotel with AMAZING service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I could not be happier with how the staff at this hotel treated me and my 80 guests. The look is classy and contemporary, clean lines, wonderful amenities, a gym and spa and an award winning restaurant! I will be back, many, many times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Nikki S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your generous compliments of our amazing team and delighted that you chose to host all of your guests with us. I am humbled that you plan on returning, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    531
    131
    55
    29
See reviews for
262
822
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The James in Chicago. My friend had her wedding reception here. The reception hall was so beautiful and quaint... Perfect for a smaller, intimate wedding. The food and service were amazing as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Jenni C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us for your friend's wedding, and you had a great experience, thanks to our food and amazing team. We are honored to have been a part of such a special occasion and hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

David Burke's Primehouse is the best steak in the city but if you dont have time to sit down grab Burke's Bacon Bar to go or to bring to the room. Shopping/Starbucks/many other restaurants on the block!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Lindsay B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad that in addition to the hotel, you had the chance to experience some of the delicious restaurants we have available, especially with our latest offering Burke's Bacon Bar. We are proud of David Burke's Primehouse being named the best steakhouse in the city and glad that you agree. Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope you will visit again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Truly amazing from the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out. The doormen even remember you and have the door open and ready to assist. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and rooms don't make you feel like you are in a sardine can. Great location, very centralized, you are within walking distance to just about everything. Great place, great people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your kind comments of our comfortable rooms and convenient location. The best compliment we can recieve is that it was the efforts of our team that made your experience a great one; I sincerely hope we will all have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern New Jrsey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location in the middle of town, this comfortable hotel was a perfect base. Two blocks from the magnificent mile and surrounded by top shops and restaurants. all the staff were attentive and friendly in a low key way. The rooms are weel appointed with great smelling products in the bathroom and comfortable bedding. everything was very clean, and the gym was well stocked with equipment etc.

Room Tip: Go higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Edwid,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your compliments of our friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and gym. I am glad that our location was convenient to the places you visited while in town and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Chicago is definitly a lush city and our stay there was splendid in large part due to our unerring choice of The James Hotel, which in addition of having modern and excellent facilities also houses the David's Burke's Primehouse, the best steakehouse in town where we dined twice along the four nights we spent around. The hotels's staff is highly qualified, a clear example was the extremely friendly and accurate concierge service provided by Laurelin Hefter who indicated and got to us reservations for 2 very exclusive bars and required tickets for 2 plays, being one of them in... New York!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear degascosta,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that one of the highlights of your trip to the city was staying with us and visiting David Burke's Primehouse. Most off all, I am delighted that the exemplary service by our concierge team helped in making your stay memorable and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a great stay, very accomodating staff, the concierge; Laureline was particularly helpful as were the bar staff. Excellent location, good food, very comfortable room. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear MattW1990,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to the outstanding service provided by our concierge and bar. I am humbled by your recommendation of us to fellow travelers and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.