We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Spentfive nights in The James and found it excellent from the courteous staff at the front doors to the well proportioned rooms and beds.... Absolutely fantastic... Was also impressed that the beds were turned down every night. The hotel is also well situated within walking distance of the shops, the river and Lake Michigan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Fergus S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about you recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our turndown service, comfortable rooms, and especially our friendly door staff. Thank you again for taking the time to write and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    590
    143
    56
    33
See reviews for
297
900
145
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at the James as part of a Porter Air Escapes Package. Spent 3 nights starting 26 June 2013. We landed at midway airport and thanks to Chicago's transit, the subway got us to within 1 -2 blocks of the hotel. The hotel itself has been remodelled recently it appeared to us. Very tastefully done, and the staff go out of there way for you. This hotel is just off the Magnificent ,Mile and within walking distance of millennium park , the John Hancock bldg. etc.in other words, an excellent location. I can't remember the little restaurant across the street from the main entrance, but their breakfasts are fantastic and cheap!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Rick T,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our decor, convenient location, and especially that our staff made sure your experience was a great one. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great hotel! Great service! Very comfortable bed! Excellent location! The shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel are delicious. I would definitely stay there again. They have a great staff! There is free internet which most hotels normally charge for

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Miriam C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that our complimentary WiFi and great staff attributed to making your experience an excellent one. Most of all, I am delighted that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good location close to shopping, restaurants of all kinds, the downtown sights and all. Not a lot of bums in sight around the hotel. It's not too big nor too small. The rooms have a minimalistic and elegant touch. We've stayed in ordinary rooms and in suites, and booth are good with fabulous beds. (Try to get a suite - it's cool).Quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Petfar,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our convenient location and glad that you preferred staying in one of our spacious suites. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was really hoping to be writing a stellar review of the James Chicago after a very wonderful experience a few years back at the James New York Soho. As it inevitably seems to happen, a good experience in sister hotels doesn't always carry over from one location to another. First of all, the rooms are quite dated and showing some wear and tear. For example, the light switch in the bathroom was missing the toggle cover and you had to slide the metal wire to actually turn on the light. The second part that I found most disappointing was that we booked (and paid - was not a complimentary upgrade!) for a King Suite (roughly $360 a night), which looked out into a parking deck and an inner courtyard. It certainly was not an appealing city skyline by any stretch of the imagination. The room had dull brown carpet and the sofa looked as though it was IKEA circa 1985. It was supposed to be a fun birthday weekend and failed short of my expectations. Even the front desk staff was cold and uninviting. They should all be sent to the James New York and taught about customer service.

The two things that salvage this review are the great location right in the heart of the city and Magnificent Mile and the wonderful David Burke restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear BranNewareAtl,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. I am very disappointed to see that you did not have the same experience with us as you did in New York, as we hold all of hotels to the same high standard for our guests. I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss this with you offline by emailing me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I apologize again for the inconveniences and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon.

The hotel is modern and comfortable.

The staff are all friendly and helpful. The hotel had great facilities including a spa and pool, restaurant and bar and the concierge is helpful and can provide you with additional help and services. The front of house guys are terrific and helpful.

On checking in we met Julie and she immediately upgraded us to a junior suite at no cost - what a lovely surprise.

The room was large and well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. My wife commented that it was "like sleeping on a cloud".

In terms of location then The James is perfect, just off Michegan Ave and within walking distance of many of the main tourist attractions and several wonderful restaurants and cocktail bars. It feels very safe and is basically a perfect location to explore this fantastic city.

When we return to chicago we will stay here 100%. I couldn't fault the hotel, staff or location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Betman,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored that you chose to send your honeymoon with us and glad you enjoyed your upgraded room for the occassion. Thank you for your compliments of our location and beds, and that they were so comfortable. On behalf of all of us at The James, congratulations on your marriage and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travel plans return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We only had one night in Chicago and stayed at The James. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. As we didn't have a great deal of time we didn't explore much of Chicago but did walk to Navy Pier and back, about 15 minutes each way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Dreaming57,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and that the room was comfortable for your brief stay. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again whenever your travel plans return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrated cultural attractions - Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-filtered water - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown (upon request) - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, an intimate and unique cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.