We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spontaneous Stay-cation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
1 review
“Spontaneous Stay-cation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the King loft suite on the 14th floor. It was just as described. The media room is one of our favorite part about the suite, especially for a romantic getaway. The hotel staff was courteous. We decided to get room service for our breakfast and were delighted by how well prepared everything was. Will definitely recommend for couples looking for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Eric C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay-cation while with us, and could relax in one of our comfortable loft suites and enjoy the delicious menu offered by in-room dining. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    580
    137
    56
    31
See reviews for
291
886
142
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at The James for a business trip. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was simple and clean. Great location! We were walking distance from tons of great restaurants, shopping, bars and attractions. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear KaraGuagliardo,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your compliments of our convenient location and our frriendly staff, and are glad that you had an enjoyable experience while here for business. We are humbled by your recommendation of us to other travelers, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay was exceptional. Comfortable, great location, clean, cool little boutique hotel. The major issue was that the tub/shower was DANGEROUSLY slippery with no hand rails. Major liability on their hands here and very dangerous. We're in our 40s and very fit, work out regularly, so it's not like we're 80 and uncoordinated. It was equivalent to being on ice skates for the first time or walking on ice with rubber soles. They HAVE to get that fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Matt K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I thank you for bringing the issue with our shower to our attention; we are currently working to find the best solution to this so that no other guests have a similar experience. I am glad that you had an exceptional stay overall and we hope to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was very nice, the staff was great. Walking distance to everything. We would stay here again. You can rent bikes for free, but they are pretty booked so you need to be on top of things to reserve a bike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear A Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our staff and convenient location. I apologize that the bicycles were not available during your stay with us; as you saw they are quite popular during the summer months, but hopefully you can try them during your next stay. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first time during the Fourth of July holiday. The room, staff and accomodations were fantastic. We cannot say enough about how well we were treated and how much we enjoyed our room. We definitely plan on staying at The James everytime we visit Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us over the Fourth of July weekend. We are grateful for your compliments of our rooms, and most of all, that our staff that made your trip special. We are delighted that your first stay with us will not be your last and look forward to welcoming you back to The James Chicago again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was wonderful. Crystal got us tickets for second city comedy.
Often when we asked for a taxi, we were offered the courtesy van.
The room/ lobby etc. were clean, safe and comfortable.

If you don't want breakfast in the hotel, there is a spot across the street called E'leaven and another down the block:eggsperience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Anneenp,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, thanks to our car service, and the outstanding service provided by our concierge and the rest of the team. Thank you again for writing, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Perfect location and the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful! The bed was very comfy. The little things like the cookies the cleaning staff leaves, the free filtered water in the decanter on the nightstand, the bathrobes, and the free coffee and cucumber infused water in the lobby were very nice. I also found it very convenient that there is a Trader Joe's across the street for the mornings I had to grab very quick breakfasts. I definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Samantha B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us, thanks to our amenities and convenient location. The best compliment we can receive is to hear that it was our staff who made your outstanding, and that you will be returning. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrated cultural attractions - Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-filtered water - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown (upon request) - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, an intimate and unique cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.