We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Understated Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Twinsburg, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant, Understated Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed recently at The James Chicago for the first time. It was an Excellent experience. We stayed in well-appointed studio-suite room with a very, very comfortable bed. We loved the room, the ambiance of the hotel lobby area and the location (if staying in downtown Chicago) cannot be beat.

We consistently experienced first-rate, top-notch, excellent service from the staff, especially at the Front desk and Concierge desk and from the door-men.

We have stayed at a number of Luxury hotels, including the Trump tower in downtown Chicago. For our taste, this was by far the best hotel experience we have had in the Chicago-land area. We loved the focus on excellent service, amenities, room, etc. that emphasize simple elegance, clean design and top-notch quality without being flashy.

The James Chicago has set the bar for us for a luxury, boutique big-city hotel.

Room Tip: The Studio suite was lovely and plenty of room for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Aram O,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our front office staff and are glad that they assisted in providing a luxurious experience. We are truly humbled by your comment that you found us to be your favorite out of the numerous hotels you have stayed at in the city, and thank you for your kind words. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    522
    128
    55
    28
See reviews for
256
807
134
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When traveling on business, few things are more impressive than the ease and comfort that comes with staying at The James. I was able to check in a bit early (1pm and they had a room available) and the nook within the room makes for the best afternoon work station you can get. The rooms are well appointed with organic bath soaps and they take time to reduce their carbon footprint without expense to a luxurious experience for a weary business traveler. I was pleasantly surprised and the small touches (a modern chair with great ottoman to rest before client meetings) bring this hotel to the top of my list when in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear HaphazardGourmet,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our property and that you found the room to be conducive to your needs while traveling on business. Additionally, we are glad that you appreciate our efforts to be environmentally conscious and enjoyed the Intelligent Nutrient bath products as well. Most of all, we are thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us again. Thank you again for writing, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The James Hotel. From the beginning, the staff was very friendly. We arrived a few hours before the 2:00 check in time and they were able to accommodate and get us in a room. They had a Valentine Special when we booked our room and chose a one bedroom apartment. The room was very spacious. We left our room to go workout for a few hours and came back to a nice bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberry's. Good thing we worked out! The workout room was large and had everything that we needed. Weights, treadmill, elliptical, stretching mats, foam rollers, and medicine balls.
We also had a credit for the restaurant. We had a great lunch and would highly recommend you eat here. We will definitely be back to The James next time in Chicago!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a One Bedroom Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear KMD1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments about our gym and especially our friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment suite and hope that you had an enjoyable Valentine's Day experience with us. Thank you again for writing, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The James. The bed is comfortable, the sheets are soft, the service staff is excellent and not invasive and I feel secure there as a woman travelling alone. The towels are large and fluffy. The hotel is spotlessly clean. I can't think of one thing that I didn't like! It was raining hard when I arrived and the doorman was at the door of my cab with a large umbrella. I didn't want to go out that night for dinner and deal with the bad weather, so I asked about the restaurant in the hotel, David Burke's Primehouse, as I didn't have a reservation and I don't eat meat. The hotel concierge procured a table for me and there were plenty of menu choices for non-carnivores as well as their beautiful steaks. I am already looking forward to my next stay at The James!

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the courtyard. I believe it is quieter there than the street side, and I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear edyrp,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our clean rooms, thanks to our superb housekeeping team, and that you enjoyed your meal at David Burke's Primehouse. Most of all, it is great to hear that you are a returning guest, as we are truly grateful for your loyalty to us. Thank you again for staying, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I and wife stayed several days at the James. It was a super experience. Never have I experienced such pleasant hospitality. The staff attitudes towards us guests illustrates the fine example for the travel industry set by this hotel. Desk personnel who remember your name. Doormen who warmly greet visitors. Bar attendants quick to solicit an order. Floor and lobby attendants anxious to insure your comfort and provide any information requested. Speedy responses to service requests. What an experience. Yes these are employees but they exude an attitude closer to friends and family. Behind this performance must lie a management and training team more than just a bit competent. Let's try excellent. Add this fine employee performance to the hotel's location in the heart of Chicago within walking distance to many attractions and public transport it made our visit to Chicago a fine event.

Room Tip: The upper floors give a bit more view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear JimM857,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is our aim to provide our guests with a luxury liberated experience in all aspects of their stay, and the highest compliment that we can recieve is to hear that our amazing team made your stay outstanding. I am truly humbled by your compliments of us, and sharing your thoughts with both myself and other travelers on Trip Advisor. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

great hotel! minimalist scando style but with all top attention to major and small details from organic products in bathroom to decor to lighting to the in room breakfast service, and all at a great price. staff also extremely friendly and helpful as well as ideal central location. highly highly recommended. wish there were more " James" in the world....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear costello1973,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are grateful to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful, and that you enjoyed some of amenities, such as the Intelligent Nutrients bath products. Most of all, we are truly thankful for your gracious recommendation of us to other travelers. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The James is a seriously stylish hotel. From the contemporary art in the lobby to the retro in-room bartender, the place oozes designer cool. I enjoyed my stay here and can't fault the location, service or room. I loved the bed and although I didn't avail myself of the pillow menu, I slept well on each of the 4 nights I stayed. The room was very spacious for a downtown hotel and the quality of the fit-out really impressed me. The 'dining niche', the comfortable lounge chairs and the generous storage space were great. I really felt that this was a hotel designed with the guest in mind, something that some so-called 'design hotels' often forget. It was a relaxing feeling to return to my room after sightseeing/shopping in Chicago and the little chocolate chip cookie at turn down was a little delight. I used the gym quite a bit during my stay and it was fantastic! Seriously, I think it has to be the best hotel gym I have ever seen - fantastic equipment of every kind and plenty to choose from. In the bathroom, the toiletries were dispensed in large containers which I really appreciated and they were high quality 'Intelligent Nutrients' and smelled divine! The bathroom was cool with plenty of space and even a gorgeous little terrarium for added style - loved it!
I didn't sample the in-house restaurant, which was very busy, but I can highly recommend the delicious Japanese restaurant across the road as I ate there twice during my stay.
I really enjoyed the comforts of The James and I'm interested to try their hotels elsewhere on future trips. I definitely recommend this hotel as I thought that it was great value for money in an ideal location and just the right level of indulgence (and that gym is great)!

Room Tip: I thought that the standard guest room was very good value - lots of space for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Kbel3,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am truly grateful for your generous compliments, but most of all, I am glad to hear that you found the room to be completely suited to your comfort. We especially appreciate you taking the time to recommend us other travelers and hope that you will have the opportunity to visit our properties in New York and Miami Beach too. Thank you again for staying with and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.