We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second home at the James” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Petrolia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A second home at the James”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at the James Hotel several times in the last few years and each time it is like coming home. The very fun lobby bar and the great staff are noteworthy. The decor feels european and all the amenities are great. It's location is perfect for setting off on foot for all Chicago's best sites. The conceirge has made our vacation on more than one occasion. We arrive at each suggested locale and been treated like royalty. I will choose the James again for my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear JanicePetrolia,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We are humbled by your compliment that you consider us your second home and are pleased to hear that this is not the first time that our outstanding concierge team has made your experience a great one. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    531
    131
    55
    29
See reviews for
262
822
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we drove to chicago to celebrate my husbands birthday. we have a 3 year old and a five year old and we were so pleased that this groovy hotel was fun and welcoming to all of us. i loved the aesthetics, the reading/writing/craft nook in the room was awesome, and all the staff was great. we loved the cute paul frank kid goodies and having trader joes across the street for our many snack needs was a real perk. the hotel birthday cupcakes were over the top- a real treat. great location. we'd love to stay at this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Loop89,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We are glad that we were able to be a part of your husband's birthday celebration, and that your children enjoyed the Paul Frank amenities. I am honored that you hope to stay here again; we all look forward to seeing you next time!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a very nice little hotel. The price was right, the room was small but nicely furnished, and the location was perfect. Staff was friendly and the hotel restaurant had a good, reasonable breakfast. I'd stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear lewwallace,

Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We appreciate your kind compliments of our friendly staff and enjoyable breakfast at David Burke's Primehouse. Most of all, I am glad to see that you would stay with us again; we look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at The James we felt pampered. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The room is spacious, well-supplied, and very comfortable. We were able to walk to many great restaurants, shops and museums from this excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jackie652,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that our comfortable rooms, convenient location, and our amazing staff all attributed to making your experience a great one. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is by far in my top 5 of places that I stayed on vacation.

The hotel is not big like some of the rest of the hotels in the city it only has 17 floors but let me tell you this hotel packs a big punch of luxury in every part of it..

Pros:
Clean updated modern room
Nice big bed
Great view of Rush/Michigan Ave
Outstanding and Friendly Employees "Very fast when we had issues with our room"
Free cookies at turn down which are very tasty
Ordered cupcakes which were very good
Very quite room on the top floor "17th floor"

Cons
Since being on the top floor very warm from the heat rising
Floor vent was making loud banging noises "Fixed issue very quickly"
The tub drained very slow when we took shower

Overall we had a great stay and would def come back to the James Chicago to stay again couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: A great perk that they really don't tell you any where is they offer a free ride to where ever y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear MikeTech1984,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. I am truly humbled by your generous compliments, from our cookies with turndown to our outstanding staff. I am especially pleased that after your recent experience, we rank among your favorite hotels that you have stayed at. Thank you again and I hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked this hotel via hotwire and when I arrived to check in I did feel as if the receptionist checking me in, had a chip on his shoulder because I booked with hotwire (secret hotels). He was rather cold and standoffish, acted as if he rather be doing anything but checking me in. Yes, nice welcome to Chicago for you.

I brushed it off and checked into my room which was a delight. The room was roomy, had a seating area and a bar area and a big comfy bed.

The hotel offers complimentary wifi here. The bathroom area was nice and clean, but the sliding door for the bathroom was very stiff and wouldn't close properly.


The hotel is conveniently located, it is a 5 minute walk from McDonald's, Bloomingdales, the post office, Walgreens and much more. This was very handy!

The hotel is only a short cab ride from all the must to see sights - like the Shedd Aquarium, The Cloud Gate etc. However, I must say if you ask locals where the cloud gate is, they might know what it is - so I found out. I think it is more commonly referred to as being the silver bean!

The hotel bellman was friendly - helpful in giving directions to local pizza joints.

I would stay here again despite the rude little man who checked me in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Zeva2010,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Although I am glad that you had some positive aspects of your stay and would return, I am very sorry to hear about the experience you had during check-in. This is not the level of service we aim to provide, and it is clear that we did not meet your expectations, or our own. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline, by emailing me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I apologize again and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in downtown Chicago. First, the doorman was fantastic - helpful, friendly and knowledgable. Next, every staff member from check in to luggage delivery to room service were extraordinarily kind and accommodating. We had our 2 small dogs with us and they provided accommodations for them - bowls, beds, bones. Now, there weren't many grassy areas for the pups but it worked out and we got some nice walks in. The room was comfortable and clean. We did order room service and the food great! You can't beat the location if you do want to get out for fun. We will most definitely be back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear pschmeda,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your kind compliments and am delighted that our staff made your experience a memorable one for both you and your dogs. Thak you you again for staying with us, and I am truly honored that you will be returning. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.