We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...love it's style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Save Saved
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel...love it's style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January.

Loved it!

Beautiful design, great staff, comfortable room. We were on the top floor so had a great view and apart from the sirens on the street, didn't have too much of an issue with noise.

Ordered room service a couple of times. It was okay, but not amazing.

The bathroom toiletries are stunning though! Beautiful! And the turn down service was also a lovely surprise.

Trader Joe's is just across the road as is Starbucks...

Would definitely recommend this hotel! We booked through the hotel website and got a fantastic deal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear monniemoo, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and are so glad that our great staff, Intelligent Nutrients products, and great view made for an overall great experience. We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,051
    440
    106
    50
    24
See reviews for
200
669
119
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A friendly doorman to welcome you, efficient and friendly desk staff, very comfortable rooms (great bed!), and good food at the restaurant all adds up to a wonderful hotel. I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends going to Chicago on business or just a weekend getaway. The only small fault is that the corridors need a good vacuuming. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay at the James again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear AussieInDallas, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at The James Chicago. I would like to apologize for the condition of our corridors; this is not of the high standard we expect, but I am relieved that it did not detract from your pleasant stay. I am glad to hear about the efficient and friendly service you had from our great team, and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I loved it here. Booked via Jetsetter.com for a great rate. Great services, great room, great location. The Intelligent Nutrients Harmonic toiletries are amazing! Stayed 4 nights and wanted to move in. The gym isn't as spacious as I had pictured but not bad at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear mssamryan, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We are thankful for your wonderful compliments of our rooms and Intelligent Nutrients products, and are flattered to hear that you wanted to move in! We appreciate you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to Chicago and were very impressed. We arrived at 8:30am and were able to check into our room right away. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely; spacious and very nicely furnished. The hotel is in a great location - right off Michigan Ave and within walking distance to a lot of the attractions that visitors want to see. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - so much so, that we forgot what day we were leaving and almost missed our flight! We will definately be back to stay in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Lucia J, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago! It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience with us, thanks in part to our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We are thrilled that you definitely plan on staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for your generous compliments, and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent a weekend at the James hotel and it was just great! The workers from valet, front desk, etc were just wonderful. Great customer service. My family hosted a wedding there and the wedding coordinator along with the head waiter were the best! Couldn't have picked a better hotel and venue! The whole experience was perfect.

Thank you James Chicago!

Room Tip: We had a suite.. aside from having two beds, we could easily adjust the room to fit our pack n play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Meg S, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We are truly grateful that your family chose us for such a special occassion and that our team was able to assist in providing a great experience for everyone. Thank you for your wonderful compliments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think this might've been the nicest hotel we stayed in during our 5 week trip around the US. We opted for the upgrade to an apartment and we were not disappointed. A great view combined with tasteful interiors made this such a lovely base for exploring chilly Chicago just before Christmas.

Amazing cocktails in the lobby, wonderful food at the restaurant and the gym is the best hotel gym I've ever seen. To top it off, the location is perfect for exploring this beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear joelenegoesonline, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and are truly honored that you felt we were the best hotel you visited during your vacation. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our rooms and gym, all of which attributed to your overall great experience. Thank you again, and we hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler of late and the first time that I stayed at The James was due to a convention in town having booked all the hotels that were near the Merchandise Mart (where my company's Chicago office is located). So I decided that I could stay at this unknown hotel, a little farther away than I had planned for the first week I was in town.

After the first night, I changed my hotel reservation for the next week from a chain hotel to The James for a second week.

The hotel staff provided excellent service, they were friendly and helpful at checkin and the bell staff was courteous when I arrived out front.

The room was lovely, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The amenities were better than I expected and I now call The James my home when I am in Chicago for work, which has been very often lately.

I don't think that the rooms are especially kid-friendly, but as a business traveller, this is not on the list of things that I am interested in. What I need is a comfortable place to call "home" where I can get good rest and can easily find somewhere to eat dinner each night.

Oh, and dinner? That's a snap! The room service menu has plenty of choices, and if that's not your thing, Pizzeria Due is in the same block (on the same side of the street even!), there's a Trader Joe's across the street for breakfast and fresh fruit and there are a WIDE variety of restaurants within a five minute walk, so there's no shortage of choice. (One tip, though, avoid the Mexican restaurant next door, Su Casa, it's just not very good at all.)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a quieter room. Courtyard rooms are larger as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Katey J, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience with us at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled by your gracious compliments of our friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and amenities. We appreciate your loyalty and are honored that you feel at home with us while travelling on business. Thank you again for staying and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Chicago Hotel
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.