We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arty contemporary hotel at Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Arty contemporary hotel at Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here just for 2 nights in December 2012 prior to the Christmas rush! Excellent location. All the staff are very friendly. Although we didn't have one, its also dog friendly hotel. We were a bit early for checkin but still accommodated without delay. The check-in / check-out time is 2pm. On our last day we asked for a late checkout and got one for 16:00 which was great as it allowed us to see more of the city with packing up. We used their gym too which was very complete.
The hotel itself is very contemporary and clean looking a well as actually clean. The room was a very decent size with a separate sitting area - you also have control of the heating and ventilation system. They use very Eco friendly products which I loved. Overall a very nice place to stay in an excellent location and very good value (they also have free wifi).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear handsoff78, Thank you for sharing about your stay at The James Chicago; we very much appreciate your feedback about our rooms and amenities. I am glad to hear that our attentive staff was able to assist with your late departure request, enabling you to enjoy Chicago a bit longer. Thank you again for your wonderful compliments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    551
    135
    55
    30
See reviews for
277
851
139
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The room is very comfortable, with a fantastic bed, a living room and the toillet is cute. The staff is extremely kind, the location is the best in town! In the middle of michigan ave. And state ave. The price is fair enough! Great option for couples.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear renata r, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, but most of all, that our wonderful staff made your stay a special one. We hope that you will visit us again the next time your travel plans return you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very nice room, well stocked snacks and bar (but way over priced). The bed was a dream and the pillows were perfect. Nice shower products and comfy robes. We were on the main street which was busy and a bit noisy but okay. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: upper floors give you a better view of the city but, if voices really carry upwards from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear kakleckner, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you were able to relax during your stay, and that our bed and amenities provided you with the luxurious experience you deserve. Most of all, we are glad to hear that you would like to stay again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Everything was perfect. Check-in and out was efficient, rooms were fantastic, location is situated perfectly to enjoy Chicago. Elevator is fast, free wifi is nice, rooms were very clean and modern. Highly recommended!!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suites worth upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Steven L, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at The James Chicago. We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments and that your stay was perfect. We appreciate your recommendation of us to other travelers and hope that you will stay with us the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say. Excellent location in the middle of everything in town. The room was comfortable and stylish with all the amenities you could want with the little touches that make it above and beyond a normal hotel. The shampoos, etc., were really wonderful and I might actually buy them for myself, plus there were nice robes and luxury bedding. To me, the sign of a great hotel is when there is a bucket full of ice waiting for you when you come in for the night. Nothing to do but relax!

We did not try the restaurant, but the J Bar was great. Trendy but relaxed and they bring you fantastic snacks with your drinks.

Finally, the staff was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear GingerCat350, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our hotel and are delighted to hear that the small touches, such as our Intelligent Nutrients bath products and ice at turndown service, made you stay truly special. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not only is the James a beautiful hotel in a great location, the staff is awesome. We only had a short stay, but they definitely go the extra mile to provide great service. The location is just north of the river by many touristy restaurants, but a short walk from all the sights.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jmmaurer219, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We love to hear guest feedback and we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to all of our guests, and I am glad that this is what you experienced. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have nothing but praise. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, there was a great bathroom, very clean and bright, lighting was good in both. The free WiFi speed was just ok. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. I checked in just after the advertised 2pm check in time but the room wasn’t ready. This is probably a function of the 2pm check out time, so I’m not complaining.

The location is excellent, a block west of Michigan Avenue and just 3 or 4 east of the restaurants in the River North area. Parking is an issue though. There’s a structure a couple of blocks west on Ontario that charges around $40/day. The valet is an eye-watering $52, but it does make life easier.

Overall, one of the best Chicago hotels I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MIfamilyguy, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago. I am glad that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed our convenient location. We appreciate your understanding in regards to the delayed check in; it's great to hear that this inconvenience did not deter from your overall positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.