We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Not only is the James a beautiful hotel in a great location, the staff is awesome. We only had a short stay, but they definitely go the extra mile to provide great service. The location is just north of the river by many touristy restaurants, but a short walk from all the sights.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jmmaurer219, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We love to hear guest feedback and we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to all of our guests, and I am glad that this is what you experienced. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    530
    130
    55
    28
See reviews for
260
821
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have nothing but praise. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, there was a great bathroom, very clean and bright, lighting was good in both. The free WiFi speed was just ok. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. I checked in just after the advertised 2pm check in time but the room wasn’t ready. This is probably a function of the 2pm check out time, so I’m not complaining.

The location is excellent, a block west of Michigan Avenue and just 3 or 4 east of the restaurants in the River North area. Parking is an issue though. There’s a structure a couple of blocks west on Ontario that charges around $40/day. The valet is an eye-watering $52, but it does make life easier.

Overall, one of the best Chicago hotels I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MIfamilyguy, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago. I am glad that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed our convenient location. We appreciate your understanding in regards to the delayed check in; it's great to hear that this inconvenience did not deter from your overall positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I booked on Hotwire and was skeptical because I wasn't familiar with the hotel. From the moment I arrived it was beyond a pleasure. The staff was fantastic and the hotel was very clean. Location was also perfect. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Cam5781, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled by your compliments of our staff and comfortable beds, all of which attributed to your great experience with us. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have been to this hotel a number of times now. I have gone for both business trips and getaway weekends.
Each visit exceeded my expectations. The staff and facilities are fantastic.
The location can't be beat.
I guarantee if you go you will go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Tim D, Thank you for taking the time to write about your return trip to The James Chicago! We appreciate your wonderful compliments, and especially that our staff continues to exceed your expectations. We are very thankful that you have stayed with us before; we are very appreciative of your continued loyalty to The James. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Firstly let Me start with the location. It is a prime area, Close to absolutely everything. Mag Mile and all the River North Restaurants and bars. We were greeted by wonderfully warm and helpful staff, Julie at the front desk made our check in seamless. Took maybe 2 minutes tops. Wonderful starter pack to give us all the local information. Got a complimentary upgrade and also Choc dipped fruit and champagne delivered to our room for our Anniversary. What a nice touch and wonderful start to our stay. Room was large with great shower. Modern in looks with little things like dimmers,wet bar and many other little extras. Bed was huge, Really comfortable, We had a room on the 6th floor and had no issues with any noise from the street. Nightly turn down service with a little gift from the restaurant downstairs. Just another extra to make the James stand apart. Great concierge in Mina, Very helpful and also very beautiful. Would not hesitate in returning to the James, We are already planning our next visit.Big shout out to Latrice in Reservations for all her help with the booking. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Tom71_Tina76, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at The James Hotel. We very much appreciate your review and recognition of our truly outstanding staff. We are humbled by your wonderful compliments of our hotel, and are thrilled that our staff made you experience outstanding. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Starts in a crowded downtown location which is a bit hard to find. We drove right by it twice. Hint: it's about 3blocks north of the downtown Marriott and just a few block from Michigan shopping. Parking is pricey, but that's true everywhere in that area. The room was modern, attractive and comfortable. The restaurant on grounds is excellent. We heard about their aged steaks on Food Channel and weren't disappointed. Spa services are available and my wife said they were great. The bar tends to get crowded during after work happy hour so go early to stake out your seat. The concierge was excellent. Got us right into two very nice restaurants he'd recommended. Within walking distance of Miracle Mile shopping. I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Welshman42256, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We appreciate your kind compliments and are glad to hear that our comfortable rooms, David Burke's Primehouse, and concierge staff all attributed to a great experience with us. We are especially pleased that you would stay with us again and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simocrates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place is so good at courting their guests. They think of so many great details that make this place feel homey and comfortable. Unlike most stuffy hotels where the air is stale and the rooms smell/feel strange, The James does all the right things to make you fall hard.

They leave cookies on your bed, water by your bedside, and a comfortable robe in time of need. The bathroom products are divine, the hallways smell great and you can even open your window for some fresh air.

The lobby is super cozy and they have hot chocolate around the clock when it's cold outside, fresh juice in the summer. They have a great gym with fully functioning machines and TVs. Also, the prices are generally affordable if you book far enough in advance.

If they keep this up, I could certainly develop a lifelong relationship with The James.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear simocrates, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are flattered and truly humbled to hear that our amazing staff and attention to detail won you over. We also very much hope that your experience does develop into a longterm relationship. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.