We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European design, and shortcomings in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“European design, and shortcomings in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As long time residents of the Chicago suburbs, we took advantage of a discount offer and spent a night in The James Hotel, on the corner of Rush and Ontario St. The room was clean and modern -- white walls with grey carpet, modern chair and table (not desk) and a king bed that dominates the room. The large window faced north, towards a Sheraton Four Points Hotel across the street. The location is excellent for shopping on North Michigan Ave., and not too far to walk to the Daley Plaza, where ChristkindlMarket just opened. However, it proved not to afford a good night's sleep due to the brightness of the room throughout the night, coupled with the inability to lower the room temperature below about 70. The bed has a (delightful) down comforter, but only the comforter making it too warm so long as the room was "comfortable." The clock is a flat panel screen that is about as bright as a computer, which also brightened the room until covered by a book. In the morning I discovered how to dial down the brightness. The clock also incorporates a docking station for an iPod. With a 42" flat panel TV, I was surprised the TV received only analog station signals. The bath tub is small, and has liter-size body wash, shampoo and conditioner with pump dispensers, mounted on a wall rack suitable for showering, but wholly impractical should one want to bathe -- as I did. Fortunately, the bottles were removed with a bit to effort to use at tub level. The key card proved also to be temperamental, which I mentioned to the front desk. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. We booked this hotel based on the reviews of others. I am not so effusive in praising it, as is apparent. I won't say we would not return, but there were other options on comparable offer and our next overnight in the city will likely be at another hotel.

Room Tip: I echo the suggestion to seek a room on a higher floor, for less street noise. Delivery trucks star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Reamor, Thank you for taking the time to share your throughts on your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our room aesthetic and especially our friendly staff. I would like to apologize for the disturbances that inhibited your sleep; this is not the stay we wish our guests to have, but I hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back so that you may have the uniterrupted rest and overall experience that you expect and deserve. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    530
    130
    55
    29
See reviews for
261
821
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband & I went here for our 20th anniversary. I read all the reviews & they all held true. We both loved the place. Very clean & the concierge service was great! Great location! This was our first visit to a "big city" & I must say I hope we come back again & stay at The James!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear stephenie p, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are truly honored that you chose us for your first trip to Chicago and especially for such a momentous occasion as your 20th anniversary. Thank you for your kind compliments of our concierge staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The James Hotel is perfectly located to all tourist attractions and public transportations. Coming from O'Hare, the blue line / red line subway brings you right to the hotel ( 1.5 blocks ). The first impression was awesome...friendly bell boy, friendly stuff and a very inviting atmosphere. This is were I want to stay when I travel for business or pleasure. There were several newspapers and magazines available as well as something to drink. The room was very big and very tasteful decorated - quiet, bright and open with a nice bathroom (3 sets of towels were available and a bath robe ) and a big tv. Internet was also for free available. I stayed for only 2 nites but I enjoyed every single minute. Because my flight was leaving very late, I was able to arrange a late check out and later they stored my luggage until I left to the airport. Everybody was very helpful and friendly - job well done!

Room Tip: The higher the better is normally the suggestion when you stay in downtown in a large city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ingo S, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, amenities, and most of all, that you felt like you were at home which is the experience we strive to provide to our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at the James and it was just as perfect this time. We cannot express enough how wonderful the staff are. Everybody is efficient, friendly and thoughtful. They remember our daughters name, remember our plans for the day, offer water at exactly the right moment, predict every last need. Housekeeping is prompt, doormen are spectacular, turndown reliable. I love the little touches like the complimentary hot chocolate with homemade flavored marshmallows.

If you are a foodie, the restaurant is superb, with the best bacon I have ever had. They serve food all throughout the day from a variety of menus. Do not skip their breakfast which is worth every penny. (Yes, it's expensive)

The only thing that I don't care for in the hotel are the bathroom doors. In order to save space, the designers added sliding doors in the bathrooms which limit privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Esummerfield, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are truly appreciative of you for staying with us again, and am glad to hear that you found your second trip to be just as enjoyable as the first. Thank you for your wonderful compliments of David Burke's Primehouse and especially, our great staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently stayed two nights at the James and thought it was good, not great but good. Check-in was easy and quick, we upgraded to a little larger room ($360 per night) which was a good thing because the rooms are not large. View we had looked directly into another building which appeared to be apartments so our shades had to remain closed most of the time. Bed was comfortable, nice robes for each of us and a nice wet bar. The location was great, just off Michigan Ave. and easy walk to Rush Street. SMALL bar downstairs, I think they had 6 seats at the bar and a couple of low couches. Very low-key atmosphere. Ate at David Burke's Primehouse one night and let's just say it was less than stellar!
All in all, the James was not bad but there are just too many great hotels in Chicago for the same money or less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear FitToLive, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. Although we are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of our hotel, we are disappointed that you found your stay to be just above average overall. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests at The James Chicago and apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. I very much hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back a second time and turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very well located, within walking distance of everything, close to the Magnificent Mile, easy walk to the River. Had a Trader Joe's store across the road, where you can buy lots to make your own sandwiches etc. The only drawback to me was the parking which was valet and offsite and cost over $50/day but a lot of downtown hotels are like that. Staff are friendly and helpful, would stay again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Margaret200, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with prosepective travelers on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your kind compliments of our helpful staff and are glad that our location was convenient for you to enjoy your trip. On behalf of the entire James team, we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Was close walking distance to shopping and great food! The room is great, cool modern vibe with great furniture! The bathroom the shampoo and conditioner are in bottles in large shower and they smell amazing.

We ordered room service a couple times, desserts were ok. We got the cake pop tree. We also ordered the burger and that was really good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear itravelusa86, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James Chicago! We appreciate your generous compliments about our room service and our comfortably modern rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.