We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Save Saved
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Milton, Canada
1 review
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very well located, within walking distance of everything, close to the Magnificent Mile, easy walk to the River. Had a Trader Joe's store across the road, where you can buy lots to make your own sandwiches etc. The only drawback to me was the parking which was valet and offsite and cost over $50/day but a lot of downtown hotels are like that. Staff are friendly and helpful, would stay again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Margaret200, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with prosepective travelers on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your kind compliments of our helpful staff and are glad that our location was convenient for you to enjoy your trip. On behalf of the entire James team, we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,048
    440
    106
    50
    24
See reviews for
198
668
119
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Was close walking distance to shopping and great food! The room is great, cool modern vibe with great furniture! The bathroom the shampoo and conditioner are in bottles in large shower and they smell amazing.

We ordered room service a couple times, desserts were ok. We got the cake pop tree. We also ordered the burger and that was really good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear itravelusa86, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James Chicago! We appreciate your generous compliments about our room service and our comfortably modern rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at this perfectly located, clean, friendly boutique hotel in 2010 and now in November, 2012. Just completed my recent stay while attending my conference at McCormick. This place has the right amount "cool" -- a friendly and helpful staff (everywhere), orange infused water and hot chocolate at the front door, free newspapers, a computer kiosk area, and a decent gym. The bar is under the radar and the turn down service with a Primehouse treat is a nice touch. I could always count on housekeeping for a clean room et al. Nice little touches such as filtered water at the bedside were cool, too. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on for a hotel. Oh yeah, if our buddy with the Audi Q7 is available, you can request a ride to somewhere within reason. Bottom line: The James Chicago has a certain "cool factor", and for the $$$, it is well worth the price of admission at Rush & Ontario. We did have our nightly conference rate which I thought was very fair for the Magnificent Mile area. No question, I'll be back in 3 years!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear mssking, Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago! We truly appreciate your repeat business and that you found our property and staff to be just as emjoyable the second time around. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Discovered the James via Priceline. This blind date has turned into a longstanding affair. Staff are fantastic. One can judge a hotel by its front of house: here the doormen, valets and bellmen are friendly, incredibly informed and they remembered us each day! While the concierges are officially the connoiseurs, pulleeeze bring the attitude down a notch.
Rooms were cleverly & modernly designed with enough space. Only stay here if you want to experience Chicago by day or by night; if you want to shop; if you want to dine; or if you want to see beautiful people. Love this place.

Room Tip: noise is all around you because of the location, so you might go high if you want less urbanity
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear HermesParis, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are flattered that you consider us a new home and are glad that you found us. We appreciate your wonderful compliments, and that our great team of bellmen and valet made your stay a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Chicago to shop the Magnificent Mile and visit the German Christmasmarkt (highly recommend!). We had found a deal on Jetsetter for the James, and I figured the deal was too good to pass up. I agree with other posters that it was a little noisy at night, but it is a city, so I'm not sure why I would expect peace and quiet. The location was pretty much perfect - two blocks from Michigan Ave and walking distance to everything (even though it was very cold!). The room was spectacular. The bathroom was not anything special, but it was clean and nice. The bed was amazing, the room was spacious, and it had multiple pieces of furniture. There is a trader joe's across the street so you can pick up wine and snacks. The only complaint I had was the service in the hotel bar. The male bartender was busy, but he was kind of a jerk. The other hotel staff were fine - not friendly, but not rude. They just did their jobs and let the hotel speak for itself, which was fine with us! I would highly recommend the hotel for your couple getaway or for your next business trip. Also, I really appreciated the water bottle they provided - no other American hotel I've stayed at recently has had this. And, side note - I know they are supporting a green initiative, but a little part of me missed the tiny hotel-sized shampoos and conditioners. I can give those up in the name of sustainability, but I missed them a little bit!

Room Tip: Check out Snique Away or Jetsetter. This hotel is featured quite often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear heartinsydney, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and our water bottles; also note that travel-sized versions of our Intelligent Nutrients bath products are available for purchase if you prefer. I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience in our bar; this is not what we expect any guest to experience and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. I am glad that despite this, you very much enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice, stylish hotel, close to all the amenities of downtown Chicago. Very comfortable beds, excellent, though slightly pricey food in the restaurant / room service. A little noisy at night - why do the emergency services put their sirens on at 3am? Can't believe there's much traffic at that time!!
Good conference rooms and support.
No pool which is a pity - though there is a spa available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear UK-janet, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Chicago! I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and that our location was convenient to some of the best sights Chicago has to offer. After a long day of visiting the city, I am happy to hear that you found our rooms and beds comfortable to relax in. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed three nights in September '12. We wanted a smaller, "boutique" hotel close to shopping and the major attractions. We paid extra for a "loft" room/suite which ended up being located on a lower floor and overlooked a dark and gloomy atrium/air shaft. Asked to switch rooms, but nothing else was available and were told all loft rooms overlook the "atrium". The layout of the room itself was strange, the bed area up a step and squeezed into a corner. The brown shag carpet looked like it had seen better days (wear the provided slippers!). The sofa in the living room was really uncomfortable, so there was nowhere to sit and relax but on the bed. However, the staff were very attentive and friendly. The front desk kindly sent chocolate covered strawberries, champagne & a nice card for my birthday. The concierge was great, recommending & booking reservations for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear JenPotvin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James Chicago! We are appreciative of the fact that that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and enjoyed the champagne. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and that you did not find it comfortable during your stay. We do have several different ypes of rooms, and I hope that we may find another more conducive to your preferences next time. I apologize again, and hope that you will still consider The James the next time you visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Chicago Hotel
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.