We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great As Usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great As Usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed at the James several times now and as always it was a great stay. The location can't be beat, the rooms are stylish and understated, the beds are super comfortable and the service is friendly and professional. Check-in and check-out are smooth as flawless.

We usually book a king room and we upgraded to a loft suite which was extremely spacious. It actually would be a great room if you are traveling with a small child as there is a separate loft bed area. The only caveats are I think the loft suite is also an ADA accessible unit so there was no tub in the large bathroom which was OK, there were no dressers to place clothing in and the closet only had the bar halfway height up so hanging any long garments would be difficult. The other thing is that the HVAC vent unit was right next to the bed and it was pretty loud when it kicked it but since we were usually exhausted after a long day out and about in Chicago, we didn't hear it when we slept on the extremely comfortable bed.

I will stay at the James as usual when I return to Chicago next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear mchutch, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James. We are humbled by your wonderful compliments of our rooms and your stay with us this time. We very much appreciate your continued loyalty of The James and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    531
    131
    55
    29
See reviews for
262
822
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently traveled to Chicago for business and stayed at the James. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful upon my arrival. I was also fortunate enough to receive an upgrade to an amazing suite with a separate "theater" lounge area. Very unique! The hotel is centrally located to restaurants and shopping. I would definitely recommend!

The only downside for me was traffic noise, since I'm used to complete silence. However, the second night I turned on the fan and the white noise allowed me to have a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear 2SportsMom, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James. We appreciate your kind compliments of our front desk staff and are glad you enjoyed your upgraded room. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

For a small hotel experience, this was one of the best. The staff are so accommodating. The rooms, although not overly large have all the perfect touches of comfort needed.
Their restaurant was a delightful surprize with great food and an extensive wine list
The location speaks for itself. Look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear hungry c, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at The James Chicago. I am glad that you enjoyed our high standard of luxury liberated, both in your guest room and among our great staff. Thank you again for your wonderful compliments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Even though I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times, I've really only been at the hotel long enough to sleep and take a shower. I do love the bathroom (I want to remodel mine so they look similar). Besides that, the hotel is centrally located, very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kehau R, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James Chicago! We are very appreciative your great compliments of our bathroom and property, but most of all, that you have stayed with us mutliple times before. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great location especially for our four-day, brief visit to Chicago. Big high-five to Kristin @ the front desk. How professional and bumped us up to a king-size suite. Everyone there was friendly, knowlegeable and ready to assist or answer our questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Jacquie231, Thank you for your wonderful review of The James Chicago! The entire team and I are humbled and appreciative of your kind compliments. I am glad you enjoyed the suite and had a great time in Chicago. We hope that you will come to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the James for 3 nights and found the location to be excellent. All landmarks and Mag Mile are in walking distance. The room was a good size with a king bed and seating area. The room was cleaned daily with a turn down service (not often you see this). The onsite restaurant is pretty good and sure to improve. A great feature is their courtesy car and driver and if you are in a pince for time and the car is avail. it is worth asking for a ride. From my experience here the management is focusing on their customers experience with post stay surveys - where the managing director actually reviews. This is fabulous - customer satisfaction is truly on there mind. Thanks to the James for listening and improving customer experience for all of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear L'attitude, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us at The James, and enjoyed our turndown service and house car during your stay. We are very appreciative of you and our guests for taking the time to share their thoughts so that we can improve and continue to provide a guest-centric experience. We very much hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels return you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A great location, right by the Magnificent Mile and a 15-20 minute walk to Navy Pier so we felt we were in the heart of things. The beds were very comfortable so sleeping was excellent. We had a toilet issue but one call and it was cleared up very quickly. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay there. Room looks a little tired but otherwise perfect

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Monica H, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are glad that our comfortable beds and friendly staff attributed to a great vacation. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.