We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel in great area of Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel in great area of Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great location on the river north side of the city. Only had on eproblem with service which was corrected. We arrived in the city for a convention around 930 am and our room wasnt ready(understandably), but the front desk clerk had a bellman check our luggage in and off we went to work. When we returned around 430pm, our room was ready and the bags were up within 5 minutes.
The room was nice and large for a Chicago hotel. Very nice bar area with sink and fridge. The in-room coffee was not very desirable....hot water kettle and instant coffee( not even Starbucks which this was is good instant coffee). The queen size bed was very soft( we prefer a firmer mattress). The bathroom was nice and modern. Step-in bath/shower combo. The full size shampoo/conditioner/body wash was very nice! The entire hotel was very clean.
The service issue I spoke of earlier in the review was a call I out in for some ice to be delivered. hey dont have ice machines- delivery or at turn down service only. Waited 40 minutes and never received the ice. After calling downstairs again, the ice was delivered within 5 minutes by what looked like a chef.
Loved the art around the hotel-including outside our window on the opposite wall. Still wonder if and what was on our side of the bldg.
Excellent doorman service, housekeeping and front desk clerks.
Would stay here again if I got the same priceline deal.

Room Tip: Explore the hotel to view the art!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    530
    130
    55
    29
See reviews for
261
821
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Upon check-in we were upgraded to a "larger room"...great! However, we found that our upgrade was actually a handicapped room. First of all, not being informed or not stating this upon check in is one of my peeves. Some probably like getting a larger room no matter what. Handicapped rooms are arranged differently (rightly so) with wheelchair access into showers (no tub), special bars, no counter space, etc. I mentioned this to the front desk not because I was expecting to move but because I think that customers should be informed or asked if they are ok with a handicapped room upon check-in. The front desk receptionist (Annette I think) was sooo understanding and very professional. She insisted on moving us to a room just down the hall which was one of their loft rooms. She was very customer focused and wanted to make sure that we were happy with our room. The new room was AMAZING. It had a large king bed on platform in one room, a separate living room/sitting area, and a third room with a large square bed/lounging area with projector for watching movies or tv on the wall. My daughter called it a party room. The bathroom was lovely and functional (plenty of counter space). The showers had large mounted bottles of high quality shampoo/products which is a great idea - and less wasteful! There were 3 flat screen televisions and the rooms were stylish and modern. The bed was very comfortable and included different types of pillows for varied tastes or comfort preferences. The sheets were of fine quality and very smooth. I did not get a chance to check out the spa or gym...maybe next time! Last of all, the valet personnel were exceptionally service oriented and friendly. Service, comfort and cleanliness are paramount for hotels and this one certainly provided it with a smile.

Room Tip: We had room 722 (one of the Loft rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The James is a 5 min walk from Michigan Avenue and the nearest underground station. The room was beautiful & luxurious, it had a large bathroom, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We returned from a hard day shopping with achy feet and beyond exhausted, to find our bed turned down, the radio on and the lights dimmed. A lovely welcome back. All the staff we encountered were helpful from reception staff to the doormen however Bill - concierge went above and beyond, advising on restaurants and making reservations on our behalf. He was always the utmost professional, welcoming us with a smile and local knowledge. I can't wait to stay in this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: If a view is important specifically request city facing rooms as the interior rooms do not have a ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great location, lovely staff. I always stay here when in in Chicago

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great gym, delicious breakfast (love the potatoes), good service overall. Stayed in a loft room - fantastic space but my only comment to travellers is consider a basic room as you can then get a view. Loft rooms all face inside and there isn't anything to see but someone else's room across the courtyard. What I particularly liked was that gym which is one of the best I've seen in a hotel, the location can't be matched and very good wifi. Another comment about the loft room - again, love it, but as a business traveller I immediately noted there was no desk or decent workspace. Bed fantastically comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for basic so you don't face inside courtyyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We picked this hotel for it's location and were not at all disappointed. We could walk virtually everywhere we wanted and were only a couple blocks from a metro station. The rooms were nice, although a little small for my taste. Nice King sized bed that seemed a little cramped. Our bathroom was also pretty small and the door didn't work very well. Concierge service was really helpful and nice. This hotel even offers to rent or lend bicycles to take city tours and there is a highly rated steak house downstairs. Overall the hotel is nice, comfortable and in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a small, modern boutique hotel located just one block from Chicago's magnificent mile. I couldn't have picked a better location for a quick overnight stay in Chicago. We were upgraded to a suite and it was just perfect.

The staff were wonderful--gracious and courteous. I usually don't consider my experiences with staff when giving a rating but everyone was so exceptional that I feel they deserve some accolades. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Chicago offers a stylish and engaging alternative for the contemporary business or leisure traveler. - Ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Chicago, just steps from Michigan Avenue and celebrate cultural attractions - Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel - Early check-in, late check-out - 24-hour room service provided by David Burke's Primehouse - Triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily - Twice-daily housekeeping with turndown - Environmentally thoughtful local car service - Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burke's Primehouse, named the #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY Chicago, a new craft cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.