We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet for Sunday brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnivale

Carnivale
702 W Fulton Market, Chicago, IL 60607
(312) 850-5005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnivale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Mexican, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Halsted
Transit: Bus: The #8 Halsted at Fulton Market/Lake: 2 minute walk The # 65 Grand Avenue at Desplaines:10 minute walk The # 56 Milwaukee stops at Fulton/Desplaines: 2 minute walk Train: The Blue Line at Milwaukee/Grand: 10 minute walk The Pink Line at Clinton: 5 min walk The Green Line at Clinton: 5 min walk
Colorado
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Quiet for Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went here with some friends for Sunday brunch. The restaurant is huge, but was pretty much empty on Sunday at 1:00 pm. We got a table out on the patio right in the open doorway and enjoyed the view of inside and outside. The red sangria was good and a bargain for pitcher at $32 in the city. I had the shrimp ceviche as an entree, and I have to say I was not very impressed. My husband, however, had the churro waffle and loved it. It seems that this place would be more lively and fun on a weekend night with a large group.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    113
    41
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Time to Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The place is amazing. As our grouped arrived at Carnivale the smells were fantastic (and we were still outside.) Once we entered the restaurant, there was lots of color and great music playing. There was a great Latin vibe with the decor combined with the music. In addition, there were great drink option from Latin countries. I enjoyed a refreshing caipirinha before dinner.

Our waiter was nice and distracted. He may have been distracted because it was so busy while we were there. There were many dining options with a nice variety. I selected a fish that was very good. After dinner there were some desserts ordered by the table. My preference was to pass on dessert. However, I did have a taste of the banana cream pie, AMAZING! The banana cream pie was perfectly balanced banana flavor with sweetness. I had a bite, two bites, and then just kept going.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still great, with maybe one less table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I dined at Carnivale for the second time, and enjoyed it again. The music, décor and general ambience are irresistible. The food is excellent and imaginative. The service wasn't quite as good as it was the first time; our server could have been more attentive, and the bus staff could have been more prompt with water, and with removing plates (so the manager removed our plates at one point), and less eager to take my food before I'd finished. In general, though, service was good.

One recommendation to the restaurant--remove the two-person table to the left of the entrance as you enter the dining area. That's where my husband and I sat. People inadvertently hit my chair about ten times--no exaggeration--during the meal. Either a purse hit it, or someone turned the corner too sharply. It would be worth the cost of eliminating one table to treat your diners with this consideration.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“The perfect Latin atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This restaurant is very nice. It has happy colors and for sure you feel as if you are in Miami or a tropical island. There are so many pictures of pretty, seductive woman. Where are the men, we would love to have a look every now and then. The food was really good. I ordered the Arrachera and the meat was very tender and well seasoned. Try the rasberry mojito, one of the best I had in a while. The only bad thing was the seating arrangements. But this was typical of all places in Chicago. There is not enough space and you sit very close to the couple next to you.
A little note to the restaurant - If you have plenty of nice tables that you can have your customers sit in - why place them at a bad one. Someone tried to sit us at the table that is right as we walk in where there is heavy traffic from everyone. Not a good move because if I see better tables that are empty, be sure that I will ask for a different table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere,food overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Carnivale had a very bright, ecclectic atomsphere, but the food was way overpriced for the quality and the service was poor. It was a birthday gathering with friends and none of us had been to this restaurant before and we were all disappointed. The food presentation was nice, but the food lacked taste and again was very overpriced for the quality.
Would definitely not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivale also viewed

 

Been to Carnivale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnivale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.