We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach roaches and bullet hole in the window. WOW!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Midway Inn

Save Saved
You added Midway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midway Inn
5335 S Pulaski Rd, Chicago, IL 60632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 167 hotels in Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coach roaches and bullet hole in the window. WOW!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

So pissed about this place. The shuttle bus picked us up at the airport first off the tail light was busted out. Second the drivers window would not roll up. Third the door looked like it was going to fly open at any moment. Ok so we get the the hotel and check in. Get to the room and the smell is terrible. I opened the curtains to check out the view only to find a bullet hole in the window. Yeah so I felt really safe. I started looking around the room and saw a coach roach crawling up the wall. I killed it then saw another one crawling towards my suit case. We left so quick. In the hall way the shuttle driver asked if there was a problem. Did u really need to ask. I told him there were coach roaches. And he said that was a first. I douht that bub. So if I were uni would never stay there. It Should be quarantined. Horrible. I can't say enough on how terrible it was

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    1
    35
See reviews for
6
5
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I may fall on the cheaper side of the coin, but after paying almost 70$ for a room with a promised king sized bed, cable tv and a free shuttle ride to the airport. I was horrified by what i walked into!!!
While walking up to this location I noticed how run down the place looked from the outside. the curtains were open enough to see into several rooms where tables and chairs were turned upside down. I walked into the lobby to a "too casual" looking young girl flirting with a much older man who later turned out to be the shuttle service/maint. man.
we get our key and start walking down a very long and very creepy hallway that lead us into our first room for that evening. I couldn't get the key to work so we had to get the girl to come over and help us. she switched keys -note: ( the midway inn keys read motor inn) then we walk into the room, double bed. small t.v. 1- wash cloth no towels. 1- bar of facial soap from the super 8
there was a roll of toilet paper sitting on the top of the exposed wall in the bathroom. it was not a nice white pretty toilet, it was like one you would find in an abandoned gas station for men only. the t.v had no remote control so while manually flipping through the channels we find that no stations come in but oh wait! there's one it's hard core porn, assuming to be from one of the other rooms : (
I have my fiance walk to the front desk to do something anything! because they did not want me to walk out there! he is the good cop to my bad cop....
she said is the tv not working? i will send someone by.
no one ever came, he goes back up front and she ends up switching us rooms.
this time she puts us into he room with a king size bed and a tv with again no remote but it at least has HBO. If this room was to be inspected by a blacklight it would find the nastiest wall to wall coverings of things i'd rather not say....
all night we were kept awake by drunk people knocking on other doors and screaming in the halls... note: not kids! scary adults. saying where you at! and wondering how bad this was going to get. this man on our opposite bedside wall was up to the wee hours talking loudly and singing possible sailor songs into the night. i did not sleep a wink. how could I?
this only caused problems out of pure frustration on our end. we had to catch a plane very early in the morning and with out a car we used the shuttle service. which was the main. mans mini van that was missing his driver side window and looked like he used it for his personal use. he smoked in the car and everything in it was dirty. by the time we got to the airport i was beyond ready to go home!!!!
i can not stress to you enough that spending anything less then100$ on a hotel room is only going to get you a mere sex shack. that most sleaze bags pay by the hour for!
DO NOT DO IT!!!
there is nothing romantic about a room where you feel at any moment you could be abducted and sold off in some sex trade over seas... that was the overall vibe of this place and i thank god i was only there for one night and that i survived that night......... NEVER EVER AGAIN....

Room Tip: go anywhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

It's the worst hotel I stayed in my life.Dirty, no hair dryer, no internet in the room. The alarm is beeping all the time. The bathroom is leaking. The worst thing is there are bugs in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband was set to stay at Midway Inn with a sports team, and I came along for the weekend so we sprung for our own room. We arrived around 9 p.m. and were astonished at the disgusting conditions of this place. To give you an idea, there is a sign in the lobby that says you have 5 minutes in which to ask for a refund. Does that sound like a place confident in their amenities?
I'm far from a hotel snob, but when we arrived in this gritty part of town and walked into this dump, past the homeless man in the lobby alternately leering at me and falling asleep on a table, I told my husband I really wasn't comfortable staying there and asked if we could leave before we even checked in. I used GPS to find the group of hotels closer to the airport that included some bigger-name hotels, and we actually paid $180 for about 10 hours' stay rather than stay at Midway Inn.
The next day we went to pick up some of the guys on the team (we had one of the only rental cars), and when we got to the hotel in the daylight I've got to say I felt completely confident in our decision to chunk almost 2 bills into another hotel! Even in the daylight this hotel is disgusting and creepy. The paint and decor is old and gross. The bathrooms are ancient and toilets sound weird when they flush. I was pregnant at the time and going to the bathroom all the time; whenever we went to the hotel I would hover over the toilet so I didn't have to touch anything in the bathroom. The beds and linens looked dirty and old. Like I said, honestly, I'm not a hotel snob; I have stayed in some places that weren't so great. But this place is absolutely unacceptable. Even the younger, rough-and-tumble guys on the team made fun of the horrible amenities. RUN, run FAR away from this horrible hotel. It is a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

If your planning on staying only 1-2 nights its fine, comfy bed, TV, geat channels, but for week long vacations find something nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

That place is terrible! My friends found bugs in the bed when they arrived, at 4:00am. They came back to tell the recepcionist about and she didn't care about it. Seems that is commom there. They left the place one hour after they arrived. We are trying to take the full refund but the maneger never can talk with us! Thats have been my worst experience with hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

I've been in alot of motels / hotels in Chicago but this had to be the nastiest place I've ever seen... They only have six channels on tv... No fox, abc,cbs,or nbc so I couldnt watch any football games... I asked for some clean linens and she came back wit some stained ones.. There was blood spats on the ceiling, found a condom under the bed and some poor girl (who had been unfortunate enough to stay there) ID... I wouldnt recommend this place to my worst enemy... Or would I... NAW it's gross!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Midway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Inn

Address: 5335 S Pulaski Rd, Chicago, IL 60632
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Midway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midway Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.