We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously beautiful and delicious food, and worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alinea

Alinea
1723 North Halsted St., Chicago, IL 60614-5501 (Lincoln Park)
312-867-0110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7,738 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $150 - $1,000
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ridiculously beautiful and delicious food, and worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My experience at Alinea was by far the most enjoyable dining experience I've had. Everything was expertly prepared, wonderfully seasoned and delicious. Not to mention the presentations and ambiance can not be beat. It is well worth the money. Other reviewers complained about the staff (pretty sure "help" is not the correct term), we however had a blast with our servers and they made the evening that much more enjoyable. They were happy to talk about the food with us and were funny and engaging. If you aren't into this type of cuisine by all means don't spend your money and time, but for modernist cuisine that makes you think outside the box and will challenge you, Alinea is the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    74
    41
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great!! Food was amazing everything about this place was just amazing for sure i am coming back here with friends and family!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food / Lousy Wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We ate at Alinea last weekend (our first time). The restaurant itself is "interesting", the help is rather snooty and all in all the food was fun. I am a bit surprised that they have been open since 2005 and that there are people that really think is an amazing culinary experience???

All that said the food was fun but the part that was completely underwhelming was the wine pairing. We have been all over the world and have done lots and lots of pairings and they really missed the mark. Overall the wines were "average at best": and many were not paired well with the food.

It was an experience for sure but we will not be headed back or recommending it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Presentation, Decent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Creativity at it's finest. The food was served, prepared and delivered in the most fascinating way, however, some dishes left taste to be desired. The atmosphere is stuffy, with far too many employees. For $800, I would expect more.

On a positive note, beautiful, clean kitchen!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A culinary experience beyond belief”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

All the hype, all the ranking, all the accolades...are all true and well deserved. Form the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. The food, the serve, and the experience are well worth the astronomical price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alinea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alinea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.