We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Opportunity to See Live Music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town School of Folk Music

Old Town School of Folk Music
4544 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago, IL
773-728-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 301 Activities in Chicago
Type: Performances
Attraction details
DFW
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Opportunity to See Live Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When I was in Chicago with a group someone made arrangements for the group to see a concert at this venue. Honestly, I was not excited and thought about begging off. I am so glad I didn't. We were treated to a concert by Juancho Herrera, a Colombian and Venezuelan guitarist/vocalist. This was entirely outside of my musical experience, and I really enjoyed listening and watching the very talented musicians. For those who enjoy good live music that is very affordable, I highly recommend checking this place out. We looked at upcoming concerts and I was disappointed that I would not be in town to attend them.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Songs of Good Cheer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Mary Schmich and Eric Zorn of The Chicago Tribune have been leading Christmas Carols for fifteen years and this is the first year we bought tickets early enough to this sell out event. What fun! With members of the staff of the School on stage and the crowd festively dressed, we rejoiced and sung together with gusto. A great program and for a good cause…Merry Christmas!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Harmonica Blow Down blows off our socks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lucky us to be in town when the Old Town School of Folk Music has invited Johnny Sansone to play with several local Blues Harmonica players. The locals were great and Johnny was super. The School is a vibrant community of music-loving people and the shows they sponsor all sound engaging.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Love all types of music, fun to meet the artist after the show. The building was the old neighborhood libarary back in before they moved in so the building is facinating

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bookings below par!? (Revised review)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This used to be my fave venue but as of late, I have found the quality of entertainment has fallen considerably. Could be because of SPACE in Evanston and City Winery in Chicago who seem to have taken the acts that used to go to Old Town. It's a shame as I love Old Town and its location.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town School of Folk Music also viewed

 

Been to Old Town School of Folk Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town School of Folk Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.