We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookingglass Theatre Company

Lookingglass Theatre Company
821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)
312-337-0665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lookingglass Theatre Company seeks to redefine the limits of theatrical experience and to make theatre exhilarating, inspirational, and accessible to all.Through theatre, which invites, even demands, interaction with its audience, the company's goal is to fire the imagination with love, to celebrate the human capacity to taste and smell, weep and laugh, create and destroy, and wake up where we first fell --- changed, charged and empowered.
Chicago
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great, intimate theater that does some really different and wonderfully done plays. We came on many occasions and have never left unhappy. Well done playhouse.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    37
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Little Prince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Amazing show. Made us cry. Perfect night at the theater. The cast was phenomenal. They had us the minute the lights went down.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful production of "The Little Prince"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a show! We were so impressed by the company, especially the young actress who played the prince. The show was full of absurd characters, flying, acrobatics, comedy, and music--a full palette of entertainment. The house--nearly full--was intimate and had an industrial vibe. There was a cash bar selling a variety of beverages, snacks, and souvenirs of the show and the theater. It was an enjoyable evening we will remember for a long time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“The Little Prince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This quaint theater is located in the old water tower building on north michigan. The theater seats a few hundred and is always a good value.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Innovative, Intimate, and Inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I watched 'The Little Prince' performance here at the Lookingglass Theatre Company. I really like the location, the building, and also the lobby area. It was what I expect a theatre would look like. They have a nice concession stand as well. I thought the staging of the show was innovative and the theatre itself was very intimate. I left the theatre feeling inspired and hope to see more shows here when I visit Chicago again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookingglass Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Lookingglass Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookingglass Theatre Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.