We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Court Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Court Theater
5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago, IL 60637 (Hyde Park)
773-753-4472
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 953 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
jennifer.rohrerwalsh@gmail.com
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Court Theater has hit or miss plays. This one--James Joyce's The Dead--was a miss. But An Iliad was amazing. What is always consistent is their hospitality. From greeting to exit surveys, they want to accommodate their patrons.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the very best theaters in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been a subscriber to the Goodman, the ATC, Victory Gardens, and Court over the past 10+ years. I've also seen shows at the Lookingglass, Steppenwolf, and many others. Now I just subscribe to the Court and pick and choose at the others. There is no other theatre that gives such consistent high quality productions. I have very rarely walked away unsatisfied. They work with some of the best actors and directors, they make excellent, ambitious choices for their seasons, and they understand that classics include a diverse pool of playwrights. I always look forward to going to the Court.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Productions are quality--worth a ride to Hyde Park for this and some wonderful restaurants (Park 52, Le Petite Folie) before theater.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Performance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Went to a Saturday Matinee of Invisible Man, and we were blown away by the power of the performance. My partner was extremely impessed with how easily the performers were able to move from one role to another, and how natural it seemed. The venue itself did not have a bad seat, we were concerned about sitting in the back row, and it wasnt at all a problem, everything could be seen and heard perfectly.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I can't recommend this theater enough. I saw The Invisible Man there a few weeks ago. What a production! Everything was great - the scenic design, the lighting, the choreography, the acting, everything. They offer discounts for students and children, so feel free to inquire.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court Theater also viewed

 

Been to Court Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Court Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.