We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Othello redux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier

Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier
800 E. Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)
312 595 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recipient of the Regional Theatre Tony Award, Chicago Shakespeare Theater offers a broad spectrum of theatrical experiences year-round, engaging and entertaining audiences from all walks of life and from around the world.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Othello redux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Got some cheap tickets to their modern rendition of Othello. It was amazing. High energy, funny, and well performed, it put Shakespeare into a new perspective. Chapeau!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    70
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must do for Shakespear fans.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

So its not Stratford on Avon. The Shakespeare Theater is close to perfect. Every seat has a wonderful view. The actors are some of the best in Chicago. Barbara Gaines is a treasure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“unparallelled young person's intro to Shakespeare's 'Othello'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Pluses: dynamic, amusing, hip-hop take on "Othello" by exciting group of performers. Would have loved to buy CD to accompany this show to share with interested teens.

Minuses: really, really difficult to find the theatre. I took a taxi which dropped me off near the entrance but due to poor signage, I ended up lapping the Pier once before finally asking a kind cleaning woman who directed me to the venue. By this stage, I was late going in and had to sit at the back, not the front row seat I had purchased.

On balance: Well worth it! Still love original Shakespeare and his exquisite use of language but cannot see why this hip-hop remix cannot co-exist happily with original.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great modern remake on the classic story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Attended the Othello Remix on 4/13/13. The first section of my review will be a review on the facility and the second will be the show.

Facility:
I’m unsure if the theater has multiple stages, but the one for this specific play was on the 4th floor of the building and was accessible by stairs and elevator. We got there 30 minutes before the show and were one of the last ones to find a place to sit in the waiting area. There was only seating for maybe 15 people, so if you don’t want to stand for a while waiting for the doors to open, I would suggest you either get there 5 minutes early or 30+ minutes. As with most theater productions, there is a cash bar available prior to showtime that serves liquor, beer, soda, juice, and assorted snacks.

There really isn’t a bad seat. I was worried when I bought a ticket only a couple days before the show and the only thing available was in the corner of the last row, but I had no trouble seeing and enjoying the entire show. I looked around and there weren’t any seats that had obstructions to the view, though there are some seats on the floor and balcony that face the side of the front of the stage instead of head on.

Show:
As far as the specific play of Othello – The Remix. I personally loved the fresh look on an old story. The remix into modern times makes it more comedy than tragedy and they get the crowd rolling often. The actors can not only act well, but could all sing/rap great too. There is an intermission about 10 minutes long when you can use nearby bathrooms (same floor) or get something from the cash bar.

Even though I was a fan of the show, there was one thing that could put off audience members. This is a rap musical. Even when you walk into the theater there is pretty expletive rap playing over the speakers and the Othello story progresses almost entirely in rap dialogue. If you are indifferent to rap, I would still see the show as it is done really well. If you absolutely hate rap, it may take time to get beyond that and into the story itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Othello: The Remix - Go - Even if you're a lover of rap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family of 4 teenagers (and one friend) saw Othello the Remix last week. Although I do not listen to rap music (ever), I wanted to take our kids to see something they might love. And even though they are not big rap music fans, they absolutely loved the show. It's definitely mature material, but certainly fine for teens. My husband and I loved it as well! The small theater helped make the show completely engrossing. When Othello is breaking down at the climax, the entire theater was quieter than a library.....you could feel the intensity. The four actors were fantastic. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.