We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible mistake!! DO NOT GO!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Back Room

Back Room
937 N. Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)
312-751-2433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 496 nightlife in Chicago
Type: Jazz Bars
Attraction Details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible mistake!! DO NOT GO!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were walking around and saw this guy inviting us to go inside and enjoy the music.
1) the songs sounds to me all the same
2) the menu is really limited to a couple of items
3) you have to pay $20 a person just to get in
4) you are forced to have 2 drinks per person otherwise they will charge you $5 a drink anyway
5) they made a mistake with the bill charging us an extra beer
6) the food was really salty
7) they pushed u during the show to have another drink
8)20% tips is included in the bill no matter how many people u are!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
“Back Room steals from you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ordered a gin and tonic.
Gave bartender $50.
She gave me back 5 $1's and a $5.
I told her I gave her a $50.
She said sorry and gave me back $40.
This means that if she thought that I gave her a $10 and the drink cost $10 then I receive nothing back.
Basic math.
She was obviously lying and this establishment steals from it's customers read the other reviews. Others have had the same experience.
Don't go there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nice place to visit. If you like Jazz and R&B then tis is a nice place to visit. Proper attire is a must and just an overall nice place to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great evening at the Back Room! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

It really is a hidden gem. We were looking for a place close to our hotel and came upon a guy directing us down an alley to a place called the Back Room. Not sketchy at all, right? It turned out to be an amazing find. Great tight band who moved from jazz through blues, funk and soul. We intended to pop in for a drink but wound up staying for hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

There is a cover to get in but you can negotiate it! The music is great. A little dark inside and the dance floor is in an odd spot. Service is a little slow but drinks well made. The band I heard was fabulous- but they passed around a tip jar- a little tacky. Otherwise fun to listen to music.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Room also viewed

 

Been to Back Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Back Room to your Saves list