We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Symphony Center - Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Center - Chicago Symphony Orchestra
220 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60604
+1 312 294 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 301 Activities in Chicago
Type: Symphonies, Performances
Attraction details
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
“Great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed the evening at the symphony! It was a great way to start our Northwestern visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    44
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“There is nothing like it anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have been able to hear the Berlin Philharmonic in Berlin, the Vienna Philharmonic in Vienna (both for several concerts), and all the major American orchestras.

There is nothing that approaches the Chicago Symphony. No other strings play with such fabulous intonation and tone. No cell section has EVER played everything in tune. Consultation with old recordings (of say Tchaikovsky or Shostiakvich's 5th) demonstrates what I mean.

Brass is outstanding, anchored by the trombone section which has been the signature of Chicago since the 1960's. Horns have almost returned to their glory and are certainly the match of horns anywhere except perhaps Berlin. Trumpets are fine but not Herseth.

Not to be missed!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY MUSIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

What can be more soothing and calming that the music played by the CSO and heard at Symphony Center in Chicago?.I have been a subscriber for 42 years and the first thing I did when I arrived in Chicago in the Summer of 1972 was to subscribe to the CSO season.I hardly missed a concert since then,even in the cruelest winters or swon storms.I was very fortunate that I found an apartment to live in just half a block from Symphony Center which has allowed me to attend even more concerts.
I have heard and seen some of the greatest conductors of our era:Carlo maria Guilini,Sir Georg Solti,and many many more,a list of names that could fill a musical encyclopedia.We,the audience.and the City of Chicago are blessed having as Music Director now Maestro Mutti,one of the best if not the best.It would impossible to name the soloists that have performed and spread magic from the stage.
All I want for myself and the public is many more years of enjoyment of great music,great soloists and great conductors.
Long live the CSO."Viva la musica"!!!!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blown Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Amazing. . Was not let down. They Played Pictures at an Exhibition and it was stunning. The brass during Great Gates were mind blowing good. Chris Martin Principal Trumpet is one of the greatest.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“CSO - What A Great Concert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Overall: Nothing negative for this review, everything was great! We attended the Welcome Yule! concert in December of 2013. The concert was amazing, highly recommend if you've never been before. Before the show and during the intermission they serve drinks and snacks. We pre-ordered our drinks for the intermission and they were waiting for us when we got out. They also had additional musical acts before the show and during the intermission. On our level was an ensemble playing the Handbells.

If I were forced to offer one criticism, it would be the website. I would recommend they come up with a way to show you your seats before you purchase so you can see what your view of the orchestra will be.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symphony Center - Chicago Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Symphony Center - Chicago Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphony Center - Chicago Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.