We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Park Conservatory

Garfield Park Conservatory
300 North Central Park Avenue, Chicago, IL 60624
312 746 5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When you can't stand Chicago cold and gloom one more second, this is a fun place to wander around with kids. And often fun, kid-focused activities in warmer months

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    57
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great way to start a day of touring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I spent the morning here before heading into the heart of city. What a great way to start your morning! It was a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a peaceful walk through the gardens. It was fun observing the photography class that took up residence in the fern room.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis in winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The weather turned snowy during our weekend get-away so we headed to Garfield Park to check out the repair efforts after the big hail storm a few years ago. So glad we did. It was warm and bright inside. We spent several hours walking, reading about the plants and enjoying the orchid show.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Garfield park conservatory is a peaceful and enchanting location that is out of the way. You'll find plants from all over the world. I especially like the desert succulents. Located in a rough area of the city, it feels safer in the daytime when the conservatory is open. The L train is a block away, so it's very convenient.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This gem located on Chicago's struggling west side is an oassis.
The Conservatory is a must visit to all who admire horticulture and appreciation of our planets diversity.
Serene, beautiful and spiritual - we met some artists who were sketching plants along with seeing children admiring everything. Don't miss the Conservatory if ever in Chicago, it will be a treat!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Park Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Garfield Park Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Park Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.