We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Sightseeing

Shoreline Sightseeing
Departing from Navy Pier, Chicago, IL 60611
312 222 9328
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$19*
and up
Ranked #20 of 130 Tours & Activities in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shoreline Sightseeing is Chicago's leader in river and lake cruises! Featuring state-of-the-art tour boats and expert guides, Shoreline presents the Chicago skyline as you've never seen it before. With so many options among our lake and river cruises, we're sure to offer a tour your whole group will love. Our famous Architecture River Tours are led by knowledgeable and entertaining guides showcasing the city's rich architectural heritage. We also offer skyline lake tours, romantic sunset tours, and exciting fireworks cruises from which to see dazzling displays throughout the summer. Themed offerings include wine tasting cruises, brew cruises, 4th of July options, and St. Patrick's Day cruises. So set sail with Shoreline today, where every day is a celebration of Chicago!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We took this tour just before heading home after 3 action packed days in Chicago. It was a great way to unwind and enjoy the scenery while learning more about Chicago. Would definitely do it again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    179
    30
    10
    10
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great pictures from the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We took the water taxi from the Shedd Aquarium to Navy Pier then got on the tour there. The taxi was nice because yo had a great view of the city that you normally would not have.
The tour was about an hour and was light hearted. Our tour guide made a few jokes and directed us to visit the bar on board on more than one occasion.
The view of the city is fantastic, great opportunity for pictures.
Bring a light jacket because it's a little chilly on the water and you don't want to be cold for the whole tour (same for the taxi).
Just a little overpriced but we did it and our boat was packed, so it was worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss seeing Chicago from the river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very interesting one hour tour of Chicago from the river. The city has such diverse architecture and the tour guide/docent was really passionate about her city and very informative!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“shoreline architectural tour 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

on a sunny saturday my brother and his wife treated me to the Shoreline architectural boat tour of Chicago. Our docent, Jeff, was just fabulous. The tour itself was fascinating and went all too fast. I cant recommend it enough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Architecture River Tour from the Navy Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I utilized a Groupon for this attraction. There was plenty of staff, everyone was extremely friendly and accomodating. The boat is open aired & our vessel had a downstairs bar. The tour guide had a clear and vibrant voice. He was lots of fun, a couple of one liners, but knew Chicago history & the architecture very well. The tour runs exactly an hour, however ours ran a little longer due to construction along the route, which was beyond Shoreline's control. This was a great introduction tour to Chicago and also acted as a good way to landmark the neighborhoods/surrroundings by the different buildings. A very nice experience and would do it again! Thanks Shoreline!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreline Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Sightseeing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.