We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabri Nihari

Sabri Nihari
2502 West Devon Avenue, Chicago, IL 60659-1940 (Rogers Park)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rogers Park
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sabri Nehari is a must when you are in Chicago. While the location is about 10 miles away from downtown it's worth the visit!

- excellent food quality
- wonderful service
- outstanding hygienic all round

Don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I went for dinner around 9PM on a weekday with family, food was amazing! Service was very fast, and very good. The meat was really tender. Restaurant is a bit loud because of the crowd in the restaurant. Prices are fairly reasonable. Place is very clean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not really Indian food, ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

First of all, an Indian restaurant that serves beef is a big red flag to me. Served raw onions and tomato slices with salad dressing before the meal, which was also very odd, the chicken pakoras were not quite right, light tempura type batter instead of the normal pakora batter. The nann was doughy the paratha was nearly a popadom. The entrées were kind of bland and something was just not quite all the way finished about them. Not to mention the rice and bread being being extra and the price not being cheap already. I can not recommend it. I have been to dozens of Indian restaurants around the world and this was one of my least favorable dining experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Nihari in America!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the best Nihari I have ever had, it was so good that we came here all the nights that we were in Chicago. Apart from the Nihari we also had a the butter chicken and the briyani, the briyani was a miss but the butter chicken was spot on.

If you want authentic Pakistani food you cannot go wrong with Sabri Nihari.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for novice to Pakistani cuisine - gotta try Chicken charga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

In exploring Chicago's ethnic cuisines, we were unsure of where to start on Devon Avenue, with its multiple blocks of South Asian restaurants, markets, clothing, and other shops. We asked Pakistani co-workers for recommendations They said Sabri Nihari is THE place to go and try Pakistani food, saying that the only down-side of this restaurant is that it is usually packed. Nice decor. Staff are graciously helpful and attentive, taking the time to explain what some of the ingredients are, although the place was full of late-night diners, even on one of the coldest nights of the year. Chicken charga was dazzling, a classier version of Buffalo chicken wings - coated, deep-fried whole chicken, covered in a hot vinegary sauce.. order 35min ahead, arrives whole and wrapped in aluminum foil with a knife sticking out... best eaten immediately! Beef nehari was amazingly tender and its velvety sauce was a symphony of flavors. Vegetarian samosas had excellent flakiness. Frontier chicken had the right level of spice to make it exciting but not overwhelming. Faluda dessert was just right for a cool finish. Very generous portions and so we took home enough leftovers for another meal. Street parking is not too hard to find within a few blocks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabri Nihari also viewed

 

Been to Sabri Nihari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabri Nihari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.