We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Comfortable, A Bit Outdated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #43 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
findingmyamerica.com
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spacious, Comfortable, A Bit Outdated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

The parking issue was a bit confusing. Guests who don't want to self-park in a nearby garage use the valet service of the Hard Rock Hotel around the corner. It's $45/day. They call the bell person from Comfort Suites to come help with luggage. It may take awhile -- in my case ten minutes.

Once in the hotel, I was greeted by friendly staff, which is always important to me. The elevators were a bit old and clunky, but once inside my room, I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed in a spacious suite with a kitchen and living room, and everything was very clean and comfortable. A big bonus here is that there is a washer/dryer in each suite, and there is no additional charge. The bathroom is small, especially given the size of the rest of the room, but the rest of the accommodations made up for that. I loved the large desk, the wonderful city view, and the firm bed.

I did not have one of the rooms with a balcony, and I wish I had.

A minor complaint here is that when entering/exiting the hotel, one has to pass the smoking guests gathered outside. I wish Comfort Suites had another designated smoking area away from their entrance.

For the price, I think Comfort Suites was an excellent choice for a downtown stay. It's close to many attractions and restaurants, and there's a great coffee shop across the street. The rooms are a bit outdated, but the cleaning staff does a superb job and the staff is quick to respond to guests. For instance, my room was missing a bath stopper. A maintenance man arrived within ten minutes to replace.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at our new Michigan Avenue hotel. We are pleased to learn that you found our staff accommodating and friendly and that your requests were fulfilled rapidly. During your next visit please use our designated valet parking for a more cost effective discounted rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    336
    96
    30
    20
See reviews for
382
315
70
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Booked to attend a conference a short walk away. The room value was superb. Room was a small apartment - laundry, kitchen, living room, bedroom. Breakfast was included and was wonderful - hot and cold items. Free hot coffee was available 24/7. Front desk was always friendly and helpful. Our room had a river view. Would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
The entire staff of Comfort Suites Chicago thanks you for your stay and review. I am glad you found our staff helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed our complimentary full breakfast. We would be honored to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed here with my two friends from Canada. Plenty of room...excellent views down Michigan Ave, walking distance to shopping. Breakfast was included ...don't see that in Downtown Chicago too often. The staff was very nice and helpful with recommendations for dining. The rooms are clean and very very spacious. I would stay here again. Great place for long term stays as the rooms have kitchens , tons of closet space and washers and dryers....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, April 18, 2010
The entire staff of the Comfort Suites thanks you for your review and business. I am so happy to know that your room, our location and staff exceeded your expectations. We value feedback from guests like you and would like to have you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beavie1613
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I have never, ever been more pleased with my accommodations that at the Chicago Comfort Suites. In room kitchenette, very clean; friendly staff; very conviently located for my convention and other attractions. First class hotel at moderate price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
We are so grateful for the review and for your business. I was so pleased to read you witnessed our commitment to providing superior suites in a great location at a competitive price. I would enjoy an opportunity to have you as our guest again. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I get treated well every time I visit this hotel. The workers are friendly and the rooms are clean. Great location right in the heart of Chicago, too. You can't go wrong here. Plus, they're on Twitter and always looking for feedback from people who've stayed there. Special thanks to Natalie and Rachel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found our downtown Chicago location convenient. The team is so appreciative for your kind comments regarding our staff especially Natalie and Rachel. The entire team of Comfort Suites Chicago looks forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My colleague and I stayed here for 45 days. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The housekeeping staff always made sure that the rooms were always cleaned. The location is fantastic with great benefits as far as discounts at local restaurants etc.

If you plan an extended stay I would definitely recommend the Comfort Suites or even for just a few nights. Excellent deal. The only downside was the breakfast could have been a little better. But hey, it was free.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am so glad to learn that the staff helped make your extended stay a memorable one. When traveling back to Chicago for business or pleasure please contact me directly so we can take care of your arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

The Comfort Suites was a great value. The suite was very clean and very nice. Great location to downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
We appreciate your review and business. Thank you for sharing your experience at our downtown Chicago all suite hotel. Please contact us in the future to book your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#55 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.