We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay---Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay---Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My daughter and I spent a lovely long weekend in Chicago where she was working. Brandon at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helped us with getting a perfect room. He helped me navigate the transit system while my daughter was working. All of the staff was very friendly, speaking to us when we were leaving or coming in. It was nice to have the full kitchen and there were places to get groceries within walking distance. Breakfast was always clean and stocked but I would agree about the breakfast ending too early, especially on the weekend. That would not prevent me from going back. This hotel is centrally located, close to transit and Millineum Park.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on the north side of Michigan Avenue offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Brandon and the staff will be thrilled to see that they made you and your daughter's stay an enjoyable time. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we would be honored to welcome you back when you are next in Chicago.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    264
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
282
262
60
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location. South of river, so easy to catch Boat tours. 3 blocks from Millenium park. Hotel is a nice large efficiency, comfortable beds. The free breakfast is adequate and fine, plenty of seating, free paper in front of hotel door in morning. Nice touch.

The concierge services were outstanding. I dealt with two people, one at check in and check out, The other early in the morning. I had tons of questions about restaurants, how far things are, how to get back home, help logging into my IPad, the list was endless. Friendly and helpful and patient. Thank you so much, you really took some of the anxiety away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments on the staff service. Our staff will be delighted to hear they were able to make your trip less stressful. When you are next in Chicago, we would be honored to welcome you back.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachuca, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was my first time in Chicago and was looking for an affordable well located hotel, I found much more than this in this hotel; the bedroom was really nice, it had a living room, kitchen and separated bedroom, they gave me a room with an awesome view; it is steps away from the millenium park and the main shops of michigan avenue. The breakfast is served in a tiny room but you can always grab things and take them to your room. The price was very fair. Definitely would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to michigan avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are delighted to see that your first time in Chicago was an enjoyable time with us! When your travels bring you back to the Windy City, would be honored to have you with us again.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great time. The guest services people are very helpful and nice. They always wanted to make sure we were having a good time and that all of our needs were met. The rooms are very nice and remodeled. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff will be delighted to see your kind compliments! We would be honored to welcome you back when you are next in Chicago.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We needed a large room for 4 people and the suite did not disappoint. The living room was very spacious and had plenty of room to use the hide-a-bed and the rollaway bed. We had a kitchen with a refrigerator and nice countertop space. The layout of the room ensured that 4 people talking loudly would not disturb neighboring rooms - there was a long hallway before the bedroom, living room, and kitchen. Since the bathroom was near the front door, the person using it would. It disturb the others in the room if sleeping late. The hotel is extremely convenient - close to all of the trains and busses, but we walked most of the time (which you should do if you are able - great things to see).

Issues (in no particular order)
1. The refrigerator did not get very cold.
2. Only one elevator was working so it took 20-30 minutes to get/up or down. To be fair, the elevator part did not arrive in time for the weekend so there was literally nothing the staff could do and the staff did apologize sincerely.
3. One final note - breakfast is from 6-9. Way too early for a weekend traveler hoping to sleep late. There is a Starbucks one block away but if you are staying here in part to avoid buying breakfast, know that you best be up and at 'em before 9am.
4. The queen bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. The hide-a-bed and rollaway was so uncomfortable that one friend opted to sleep on the couch cushions on the floor. Not a big surprise and pretty typical for those types of beds. Be better at rock/paper/scissors than your suite mates.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite - excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the space in your suite and our location! We certainly appreciate your understanding during our elevator situation. We apologize the hide-a-bed was not comfortable enough for your guests. We would love to have you with us again when your travels bring you back to Chicago.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First off, I have to say the staff at this hotel is some of the best staff I have come across. The minute we walked in Nancy greeted us at the front desk. She was extremely friendly and bubbly. Our keys didn't work at first. She made us new keys and came up with us to make sure the new keys worked. Has great suggestions for dinner and drinks. She raved about the hotel and that completely made us feel extremely excited to be staying there. Our experience was so great and we'll definitely stay and recommend it everyone. Thank you Comfort Suites!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Nancy will be thrilled to see she made your stay with us enjoyable! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about the staff service. When you are next in Chicago, we would be honored to welcome you back.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location on the Mile. Rooms are very spacious, with it's own full kitchen (stove, dishwasher, microwave etc). Bathroom is a bit small but no more so then most hotels. Bed was comfortable. Sofa bed was not however but fine for small children. Valet parking available in partnership with the Hard Rock for $43/night (quite expensive but the valet option was very convenient). Wallgreens and a Subway was right next door which was great. A trip to Chicago for me is never complete without visiting the Cheesecake factory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel. When you are next in Chicago, we would be honored to have you with us again.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Business Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.