We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay in Windy City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 168 hotels in Chicago
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay in Windy City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The friendly staff and awesome accommodations made this a great night away from home! The views are magnificent and the beds are like clouds! I have never had a bad experience when staying at this location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I so much enjoyed reading your review and we are grateful for your repeat business. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    224
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
233
235
55
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
grand prairie,tx
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Service was good. location at Michigan and Wacker is great for both the loop and Michigan Ave. I had a one bedroom suite that was nicely but not elaborately furnished. There was a kitchette with basic cooking equipment.

The lobby is small and really only adequete for check in and out very limited seating. Business center is adequete, good fitness center, and breakfast area.

If you're looking for a bargin and a reasonable place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed our service, please contact me when you are ready to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location! Close to Grant Park and Chicago River. Lots of shopping and night life in the area. Breakfast was very good and room was very clean with great view of the downtown area. If you are on business downtown Chicago this is great hotel. Staff was very efficient and helpful to our needs which was refreshing in Chicago. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: 24th floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your business travel needs. I am so glad you enjoyed our unbeatable location and outgoing staff. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had my wedding at downtown and Comfort Suites was near the venue. My room was beautiful and has one of the most incredible views of the city.
The staff made me feel at home, the were very caring about all my needs for this special day. I will always have like the more important place in my life.
Kudos to every single front desk, housekeeping and management staff that treated all my guests and bride mates like they know them for years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for entrusting us to host you and your family during such a special moment in your life. I am ecstatic that our staff was so outgoing and provided such amazing service. We hope to welcome you back during your 1st anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful property right on the Magnificent Mile with street views and awesome spaces!
Never had views and wonderful suites like these anyweher on the "Mile"! The staff was amazing! Had taken my sis and her husband with us for a couole days as a gift and she became very ill. The staff gave me a hand written telephone number before I even left the lobby for an Urgent Care that was close. Upon calling, the urgent care understood how sick she was and sent a concierge Dr within minutes. He was wnderful, and called back to follow up and even returned the next day.
for more care. I have stayed at alot of properties on Mag Mile, but, this is my new suite of choice from now on. I suggest you try this place! They ROCK the Magnificent Mile and more with incredble service and care! Very Clean, and welcoming!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Magnificent Mile view side are INCREDIBLE! Staff Rocks - they go above and beyond to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I so much enjoyed reading your review. I like to think we "rock" too. I am thrilled our staff was so attentive and you enjoyed our awesome views. Contact me directly when you are ready to book your next stay, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent one night at the Comfort Suites on Michigan Avenue and considering that I paid about $85 on Priceline, it was an excellent deal.
Pro: The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Coffee and water (with lemon) are available at all times. The location is very central, right on Michigan and Wacker. The room was huge (and clean), two beds, a kitchen with a bar and stools, pantry area for food, washer/dryer, walk in closet off the bathroom. Free breakfast in the morning. This hotel would be great for a family with kids.
Con: The rooms (at least our room) are dated and in need of an upgrade. There was mold on the ceiling above the shower and the window overlooking Michigan Avenue was grimy. The decor is very basic, no frills. The breakfast area is small and the offerings pretty underwhelming. Again, nothing really wrong with it, just very average.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, the staff will at least give it a shot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your suite, our helpful and accomodating staff and our superior location. We truly appreciate your business and please contact me directly when returning to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I chose this hotel for its' price, location, and the wonderful reviews I read on Tripadvisor.
1. Service- When we walked in the front door, we were warmly greeted by the staff. Every time we had a question, the staff was more than helpful and always willing to serve.
2. Rooms- When we walked into our clean, spacious room, we were pleasantly surprised to find a washer/dryer, full kitchen, and several walk-in closets- it was like we were in an apartment!
3. Free Breakfast- The spread is amazing! From cheese omelets, to sausage patties, and fresh waffles, you couldn't ask for anything more! We were also excited to learn that coffee is served 24 hours a day because it is cold and windy, especially in January. Because of our early flight, we checked out of the hotel before breakfast was served but they had complimentary "Grab & Go" breakfast bags.
4. Location- We flew in and out of Midway so we chose to use the "L" to commute back and forth. The hotel was less than 3 blocks away from the State/Lake stop. It was perfect! We also were able to walk to all of the attractions we visited- Mag Mile, Navy Pier, Art Institute, and Millennium Park.
5. Sleep Quality- I gave the hotel an average rating on sleep quality because of the mattress. They have a plush pillow top on their Posturepedic mattresses which, if you are used to that type of mattress, it would be fine. I like it to be cool when I sleep but even with the AC running and taking off layers on the bed, I was still to warm to get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I so much enjoyed reading your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed our amenities, staff and location. We would love to welcome you back and please contact me directly when you are ready to book. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites is a gorgeous property located in Chicago’s city center, steps from the Magnificent Mile, the theater district, the greatest fine dining restaurants and all the best Chicago has to offer. The hotel has beautifully appointed oversized suites with some of the best views in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.