We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 172 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago,Il
1 review
“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had a perfect stay; great location, huge suite with a fantastic view, and a fabulous staff. Absolutely love everything about this hotel. Thank you all at Comfort Suites for making my stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Any room with Michigan Ave view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am so pleased you feel like we are your home away from home and enjoy our staff. We are very grateful for your business and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    250
    66
    20
    14
See reviews for
268
257
58
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have used the Comfort Suites in downtown Chicago for several student group trips, and each time we have been extremely satisfied with the fantastic customer service the staff provides--from the manager to the front desk folks to the maintenance people. Everyone is always friendly and helpful, and goes out of their way to make us feel welcome and "at home". Plus, the rooms (with kitchens and washer/dryer) are perfect for travelers on a budget. The location of the Comfort Suites downtown is ideal for our trip over Thanksgiving, close to amenities, tourist attractions, and shopping; many things are within walking distance, and there is always a great buzz along Michigan Avenue!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your repeat business. I am so glad you are impressed with the service we provide. We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You can find in this hotel the quality, location, price, and friendly staff.

The location is very convenient with walking distance to many restaurants and within half a mile from the of Magnificent Mile and the Art Institute of Chicago. and very close to the major chicago attractions.The front desk staff and housekeeping were friendly and accommodating.The rooms are large and comfortable with a full kitchen, laundry and walk-in closets. Self parking is located on 111E Wacker Dr about 3 min walking ($32.00/night).

Overall I give the Comfort Suites chicago location a thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am so pleased you enjoyed our friendly and accomodating staff and oversized suites. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was in Chicago on business for 2 nights in early November. Appreciated the proximity to the State/Lake station, as well as to many locations of interest. Best part, though, was being able to kick back in the suite-style room in the evening. Appreciated the kitchen, extra lounge space, and comfortable bed with a fantastic view. Will be returning next month and will definitely be staying here!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed our spacious suites that allowed you to lounge, our unbeatable views and great location. I truly wish to thank you for your business and hope you will contact me to arrange your return visit next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Comfort Suites, was a great place to stay , Its on my favorites list..

I travel to Chicago Often this hotel was clean, great service and a great location.. everthing Chicago has to offer is right here at your finger tips, from Dinning , Shopping, Sports and Business..

This Hotel offers it all..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and recent stay. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the Comfort Suites on Michigan Ave. because it has a friendly atmosphere and one feels the staff are actually real people not just hired help - they care and go the mile.
The location is excellent and while the common parts are tired and certainly not grand the rooms more than adequately compensate the business travelller with space, good beds and views.

Room Tip: Higher floors. Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for selecting us to host you while in Chicago for business. I am so pleased our hotel fits your needs and that our staff makes you feel welcomed. Please contact me directly when returning to Chicago to make your arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived in the early evening and for some reason we were upgraded to a 25th floor suite (there are only 26 floors). From our bed, we felt like we were viewing Michigan Ave. from the middle of the road. Beautiful. The location is awesome, nice Italian restaurant around the corner, a short walk from the overwhelming Millinium Park. Architecture to make Chicago proud: Chicago Library, amphitheater with acoustic metal beams only in the park, Sears (formerly) building view from our patio. Here is something to remember: read the hotels directions they send with their confirmation about the (shared) valet parking being in front of the Hard Rock Hotel around the corner. Maybe tell your GPS girl (our's is Dixie) to drive to their address. Dixie had us below Michigan Ave. where the hotel parking is, and we drove around a bit trying to find the front of the hotel. If we'd read and followed that confirmation, it would've saved 20 minutes and frustration. The woman who greeted us at the desk, got us straightened out and had our room keys ready. The breakfast was very good, not just the basic fare. All the staff were smiling and seemingly glad we were there. Loved it. Will definitely go there on our next Chicago sojourn.

Room Tip: Highest floor available. North side is river view. South side is Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I very much enjoyed reading your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your upgrade and our awesome location and super friendly staff. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Business Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.