We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience at comfort suites chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“amazing experience at comfort suites chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Booked a queen suite for $100 a night after reading reviews here. At check-in was informed we'd been upgraded to a king suite It was especially nice as a male couple not to receive any of the usual "do you need separate beds?" nonsense. Room 2505 if you can get it: it's enormous, I'd guess 800 s.f. The view from the huge bedroom window and the private terrace goes right up Michigan Avenue to the river, Mag Mile, Wrigley building and Trump tower. Full kitchen with two grocery stores within a couple of blocks -- just ask the desk, they couldn't have been more helpful. Washer and dryer in the room so you can travel light. Free Internet (luxury hotels, are you listening? FREE Internet.) Breakfast with eggs, meat, fruit, juices, coffee included. What's not to love? First floor lay-out is a rabbit warren, and the elevators are a tad pokey, but honestly, this could be the best deal in the Windy City. Look no further.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
I was so happy to learn you had an amazing experience at our hotel, that you enjoyed our one of a kind locaiton and that our staff was memorable and helpful. As a TAG Approved hotel we take pride in welcoming all guests and so glad you witnessed that first hand. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    264
    70
    20
    14
See reviews for
282
261
60
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is perfect - easy walking distance and close to everything you would want to see in Chicago. We stayed here for 4 nights in mid December, and the hot breakfast is included which was very welcome, especially for the very reasonable price. Rooms are comfy and spacious and well appointed. The washer and dryer in the room was a bonus too. Staff are great - courteous and genuinely helpful and friendly. Any questions or requests are answered and accommodated speedily and with a smile. A special thanks to conciege David! Definitely recommend this place and will stay here next time we're in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am go glad out staff, especially David made your stay a memorable one. I was also pleased to learn you enjoyed our in room features. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

This place was great. The staff was very welcoming and accommadating. We were upgraded to the presidental suite upon arrival, which was fantastic in itself. At checkout, it was an easy process and they held our bags for serveral hours while we toured Chicago. They were most helpful when my sister forgot an important piece of paper in the room. They stopped cleaning and allowed us the opportunity to search through the room. I highly recommend this hotel for your upcoming stay in Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for your recommendation. I am glad you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This review is way overdue but here we go:) I visited Chicago for the first time December 20th-29th for my 7th year anniversary. After booking flights and looking for my perfect hotel...i came across Comfort Suites on Michigan Avenue. I have to give myself a pat on the back because i could not have made a better decision. This hotel is hands down one of the best hotels i have ever visited. And I'm hungry for more LOL:)

Arrival/Room:
When we arrived, we were greeted by the famous and fabulous staff members of Comfort Suites. With all smiles, they wished us a happy anniversary ( without us mentioning it ) and wished us a happy stay with them. We took the elevators up to the 24th floor and our mouths dropped when we opened the door to our suite. We had been upgraded to the EXECUTIVE KING SUITE!!!!! This room had a FULL KITCHEN, FULL LIVING AREA, CLOSET AFTER CLOSET, WASHER N DRYER, CEILING TO FLOOR VIEWS, 2 TVS, DINING ROOM TABLE AND SAVING THE BEST FOR LAST.........A FULL BALCONY!!!!!! I swear i felt myself tearing LOL but honestly its was simply beautiful. Patrick Kennedy ( Director of Sales ) had a bottle of bubbly and little goodies set up for us and i knew this was going to be the best vacation ever. How kind was that huh?

Breakfast:
Unfortunately we only took part of this for one morning. The hubby and i are LATE sleepers and the time change/ weather didn't help:). But for the one day they had the freshest waffles, sausage, yogurt, fruit, juices, muffins and bagels. It was delicious and a great way to start your day in the Windy City.

Parking/ Location:
We also didn't take part of this because we flew and did NOT rent a vehicle, which brings me to my next topic....LOCATION. You do NOT need a vehicle because this hotel is literally right smack in the middle of EVERYTHING. I hate driving, so i was so thrilled waking up everyday knowing that my destination for the day ( I.E. Navy PIer or Water Tower Place ) was only a few steps or blocks away. Like most Americans, we partake in fast food. There was Chipotle, Subway, Qdoba and yummy Sushi restaurants literally connected to Comfort Suites. Another great comment was that there was a Walgreens, CVS and 7 Eleven all within steps of Comfort Suites. We used these stores for little snacks and other little things that you could forget to pack while traveling. So traveling families ( with young children ) don't worry.The location of this hotel is unbelievable you can NOT find one better. You will see when you get there:)

Staff:
Speechless.
Ashley was so cheerful and always ready to help
Rachel was very sweet and went above and beyond to print out a list restaurants that were open on Christmas Day for me and the hubby.
Housekeeping were so nice and didn't mind coming a little later in the day for us because as i said we are NOT early morning people. They were great.
2 graveyard shift guys.....i forgot their names but they were always smiling even during the wee hours of the morning.

Patrick Kennedy thank you soooooo much for making this anniversary the best!!!! Your beautiful building, lovely staff and amazing hospitality will always be remembered by us. We will be returning to Chicago very soon and without second thought...be staying with you guys again. Happy New Year to all:)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Ms. Rhodes, thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so grateful you allowed us to host you on your anniversary, it was such a pleasure meeting you and we cannot wait to welcome you back. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent in that hotel three nights. The room was surprisingly big, very clean, had everything one need for the trip. The view from the windows is perfect. Location great. Stuff very helpful. Couldn't find a better place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the your review and for your business. I was so happy to read you found us to be one of the best hotels you have stayed at. We truly hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

In June 2011 we stayed here for 3 nights and we not only loved Chicago but also this hotel! We got the idea to visit Chicago again during the Christmas Holidays in Week 52. After emailing with the Hotel's GM Natalie, we decided to book!

We arrived on the 24th of December and check in when lightning fast....because i'm a valued member of Choice Hotels, we received a complimentary upgrade. So we where very curious. Last time we stayed on the 23rd floor with City View and this room was already great. But they surprised us again...we got the suite on 2505 with even more spectacular views.....your bedroom had a view on downtown Chicago!! It was really amazing!!!

One small point of attention. Breakfast starts and ends to soon. During holidays there are practically no Business guests so why start at 06:00 - 09:00? I would start at 06:30 - 09:30, after all it's a holiday and people tend to stay somewhat longer in bed :-)

Again also the service was super, all the staff members from Housekeeping to Reception...you all receive 5 Stars!!!! And again, a special thanks to Natalie. Unfortunately we did not meet in real life....but this will for sure not be our last visit to Chicago!!

Thanks again!!!!

Room Tip: Be a Choice Hotel Member
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review and for your repeat business. I loved reading your feedback and am so glad Natalie and the rest of our staff took such wonderful care of you. Please contact us directly when you are ready to come back and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our stay at The Comfort Suites was amazing. One of the best non-resort hotels I have experienced. Our room was wonderful, with a kitchen, washer & dryer and a beautiful view of Michigan Ave. The staff was ever-friendly, offering suggestions on where to eat and how to catch the tour bus (also a great experience). Being a foodie, I can enthusiastically praise the breakfast included in the price of the hotel.

Should I visit Chicago again, I would not hesitate to stay at Comfort Suites again :).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for your recent stay. I am so glad you enjoyed our staff, our breakfast and our staff. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Business Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.