We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina Italian Chophouse

La Cantina Italian Chophouse
71 W Monroe, Chicago, IL 60603
3123327005
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Cantina Italian Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,297 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clark and Dearborn
Transit: Blue line and red line trains. Clark bus #22
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went there for appetizers and drinks. Bar was busy, but we got served right away. Food was excellent and average priced. I would recommend the goat cheese appetizer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not great, but not bad. Would choose another location to eat at on the next trip to Chicago. Large portions and price was not too high, but was missing something all around.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location to go the majestic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Food was good , staff very nice tables are very small! They got us in and out in time for the play . Much better restaurants but if you are going to the theatre this good

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Olive garden is better!,”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Went here on a romantic date night. We had reservations but still had to sit in the hallway before the main dining room. The food was bland and not very good. I would have rather eaten at olive garden. I will not be coming back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoyneCity, MI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I'm not a big fan to dine alone but on business trips I have no choice. My one night for a wonderful meal means a lot to me when I visit Chicago so I choose very carefully. I wanted to stay near my hotel and this was right around the corner and sounded interesting, Italian Village Restaurants. Upon entering the building in the lobby there was a lighted showcase of the menus for a selection of three places to dine within. From my take a casual pizza fare, a mediocre price point serving dinners, and one that was more exclusive. I picked the middle of the selection called La Cantina. As I was being seated I passed through a hallway which gave me the feel of a little Italy. I snapped a picture but it didn't turn out. My server came immediately with a menu and water. I wasn't sure which beer on tap would please my palate so he graciously brought me both to sample, Stella beer 5.50 it was. A good choice, I had never tasted it before and was very light just how I like it. Now for my entree, a hard choice it all sounded so good. I selected the seafood ravioli (tort del mar $17.95) with their soup as a start. The soup was a tomato base minestrone very good as was the warm fresh baked mini bread loaf. I dipped it in olive oil that was a staple to each table. Omg I made such a great choice, I was happy happy and hadn't even seen the entree yet. The entree was Fabulous need I say anymore. I couldn't finish it so I took it back with me to nibble on it in my hotel room. I would highly recommend this wonderful place. My waiter Jose M was great too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Italian Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina Italian Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina Italian Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.