We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem just off the Magnificent Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 North Rush Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #63 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Brookfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little Gem just off the Magnificent Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

What a great downtown, moderately priced hotel, with a perfect location. Good pool area ( though a spoiled 9 and 8yr old felt it was a little “lame” as it didn’t have the waterslides like the Water parks in the Dells. However, this didn’t stop them from hours of swimming.) Smallish whirlpool that was nice and hot, and comfortable seating areas made it a nice place to relax after a day on the go. The rooms were nicely appointed, clean with a refrigerator/microwave and sofa bed in ours. The 2 beds and sofa bed suited us well for this trip (2 adults/2 children). The bathrooms were basic, yet clean with nice amenities and a good hair dryer.

Reception area was well staffed with friendly people, candy offered in the afternoon and fresh fruit in the morning. Really makes for a welcoming welcome. The door was managed by the nicest Doorman/bellman/public relations person I have run across in ages. Phillip would be an asset to any 4 diamond hotel on Michigan Ave.

Just a block off Michigan Ave, this little gem offers quality service, a good sleep, and a reasonable alternative if you are not looking for glitz and glamour.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    383
    96
    25
    16
See reviews for
238
230
61
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Four Points is in a great spot in downtown Chicago, accessible to both the Mag Mile and Rush Street, you can walk everywhere. Friendly front desk employees, very helpful valets. My husband and I ran the Chicago marathon and needed a late checkout, even though the hotel was soldout they were very helpful with us and our schedule. Good pool, one of the few downtown.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I drove to Chicago for a fun weekend with our two girls 5 and 7 yrs. I had researched many of the hotels in the city and preferred to be near Mag Mile shops and especially walking distance to American Girl store. When my husband and I travel we prefer the higher end locations with nice decor and outstanding service and amenities. This time my main concern was location and a reasonable rate. The Four Points was a pleasant surprise and all the reviews about great customer service are true.

The concierge/doorman (Darron) was so outgoing and friendly and really made us feel welcome and at home. We got to know him as we went on our adventures every day. Not like some other hotels where they make you feel like you're a bother. The foyer was very nicely decorated with Chahuly (sp) prints and glass art around, and the kids were thrilled to find a candy dish that was stocked regularly while we were there. They also had an American Girl doll on display with a drawing for a free doll or discount of some kind.

The parking garage (attached) was tight to get into with our Yukon, but once inside was fine. I think it was $38/night for guests. Inside the parking elevator to the hotel, it was nice to find complimentary coffee made. Also, there is a Trader Joe's and Starbuck's, not off the lobby, but inside the same building on the next corner over. There's plenty of Chicago deep dish pizza in walking distance for even little legs. (Pizzaria Due is across the street, Gino's East on Superior just up Michigan, and our favorite, Giordano's up the street on Rush & Superior.) For finer dining there's the Laury's steak house right across the street as well. For shopping you are literally 1 block off Michigan Avenue, so shop till you drop!

This hotel while maybe not that impressive by the pictures, and being an 8-story building instead of a skyscraper, is still perfect for a quick weekend with the kids. I was so glad we didn't pay for the Park Hyatt, or Drake because we really had everything we needed without the stuffy attitudes.

They have an indoor pool (a little chilly) and elevated hot tub, and also have a nice/small workout room with individual TV screens in front of each machine with fresh earpeice covers and free bottled water.

Regarding the room, we booked a Queen/Queen room and it ended up having a sofa sleeper also in the room which was unexpected. If you need that you should probably request to be sure you get it. I was left regretting I didn't invite my mom to go with us!

The room is a little tight like most hotel rooms, but we were not in the room that much, only to drop off our goodies. They have an MP3 speaker player for iPods, a hard wire internet connection/port, and mini frig, microwave and coffee maker. It was nice to have the frig for leftover pizza! Bathroom was nothing fancy but clean and adequate. Pictures were tasteful and pillows were quite comfy. The bed was a little firm for me but my husband loved it.

The staff was great, and when my husband went down to the desk to request more towels, they said to please not worry about a thing and in the future just call down and they would send up whatever we needed. It seems they have a great training program regarding customer service, because every time you passed anyone in the hotel that worked there, they stopped what they were doing, looked you in the eye and said hello or even started a conversation. Great mid-western friendly feel!

As you can tell we highly recommend 4 Points! Say hi to Darron for us from the family with the redhead from St. Louis.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

I stayed at the Four Points for two nights and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the Magnificent Mile part of downtown. The access to everything in the River North/Magnificent Mile area is phenomenal. It's a block West of Michigan Ave, and in the heart of all the shopping and restaurants in the River North area. Given that it's cheaper than many hotels in the area, it's a great value for the location.

The rooms are nice. A little sparse, but definitely nice. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom looked like it was recently renovated. There is wireless (and wired) FREE internet service in all of the rooms (and a business center in the hotel where you can use a computer if you didn't bring your own). There was also free bottled water in the room.

The staff was very accommodating too. They easily switched my reservation (the day of arrival) from a king bed to two double beds.

If you park in their hotel parking lot, it's $38 for your entire stay. That's a great deal for leaving your car in the city for 2.5 days (as we did). You also get to leave your car in the parking lot until 6pm (i.e., 6 hours past check-out).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I booked a double king bed with a sofa that could be used as a bed. We found the room clean and very nice on the 7th floor. The hotel is smoke free and we never smelled smoke. We used the business center to check our personal emails as it was open all night. We did not use the pool due to a heavy chlorine smell.
The front desk clerk Genise was very friendly and helpful as was the doorman who was always quick to open the door and offer a smile. I believe his name was Ezra.......... We had to get up really early and leave the hotel to attend a A.M Oprah show taping. We mentioned it to Genise the night before and a cab was waiting for us around 5:30 am. It was also raining, and the security guard was nice enough to give us a Umbrella to use for the day. Our hotel was one block from the Magnificent Mile, and honestly was close to everything. I would not hesitate to use this hotel again. It was clean, quiet and the staff were very friendly and service oriented.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My 17 year old granddaughter and I stayed for the first time at this hotel based on the recommendation of friend who had just stayed there. We arrived on Friday, 8/21, earlier than planned and were greeted so warmly by the bellman and staff we could not believe it - it made us feel as though we were truly welcomed! Even though we were early we were given a room, the room was exceptionally clean and remained that way until our departure on Sunday, 8/23. We cannot say enough about this hotel's staff from the cleaning folks on up we were greeted at all times - very unusual and I have traveled a lot of places and stayed in a lot of hotels and have never been made to feel so welcome; nor have I experienced such a clean hotel. The pillows, towels, bedding were great and we slept just wonderfully. We also liked the location - it was only a block up from Michigan Avenue on Ontario so it was an easy access to everywhere we needed to be and we could stop back any time for a break and not have to go so far. Great place, great staff and we will go back. Thanks for the experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I have stayed at the Four Points by Sheraton in Nashville (fancy lobby, large rooms, big flatscreen TV) and was expecting something along the same lines when I booked this hotel. It's definitely not the same-- most everything is fairly average. I got a great rate for this room on Priceline though, so I wasn't really upset about it. Two things that did irritate me: (1) we were told there was a continental breakfast. I guess I've not stayed at many fancy hotels, because I was very surprised when I wandered down and they wanted $28 per person for breakfast. Ouch. I can't tell you how it was because we left and went to Starbucks (just around the corner). (2) Parking for two nights cost me $78. It's not even valet. Seemed a little ridiculous.

This hotel is in a great location. It's just off Michigan Avenue, right where all the great shopping is. You can grab a cup of coffee, catch the bus, grab a cab, whatever. It's all right there. The staff was also very helpful and knowledgeable. So, while this wasn't the plush hotel I was expecting, it certainly met my expectations as far as comfort and quietness.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile

Address: 630 North Rush Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown is just off of Magnificent Mile, and convenient to Bears' Soldier Field, the Cubs Wrigley Field, or to nearby Museum Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile
Four Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Four Points Chicago Downtown
Chicago Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.