We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it, you'll like it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell, Inc

Half Shell, Inc
676 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614 (Lincoln Park)
(773) 549-1773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #631 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Classic Chicago. Shell fish the way it was meant to eat, with a beer! Great place for local and visitor alike. Not a jacket and tie place, great food and fun.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We go every time we're in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you're looking for romance and ambiance, this isn't your place. But if you want amazing snow crab for the best price anywhere, don't miss the Half Shell. We have been going here about once/year since about 1995 when a foody friend living in Chicago recommended it. Not once have we been disappointed. One time my snow crab legs were almost empty of meat and they replaced the order with a full new order. It is MUST for lovers of crab legs. We have taken our 3 kids there and now they ask to return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best King crab legs in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This no frills bar on Diversey in Chicago's Lincoln Park neighborhood is a well kept secret for oyster and crab lovers. It is a tiny, cramped basement space, and has been there for years. In the past couple of years they have added sidewalk tables during the summer which almost doubles their capacity at that time of year. The place is packed every Friday and Saturday, no reservations, but the huge steaming plate of king crab legs served with white toast, fries, drawn butter and a lollipop is to die for and a favorite with the locals.

Prepare to wait for a table, then be cramped, and get messy eating, the crab legs, at about $35 a plate are worth it! Cash only, no reservations

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I were taken to the Half Shell while on a business trip over a decade ago but it was late and having already had dinner did not partake of the legendary crab legs...much to our later regret. We always talked about "the biggest legs we had ever seen at this dive bar in Chicago" but we could never remember the name of the place. We finally tracked it down again through a local, and 14 years later went back to do what we neglected to do the first time. Prepare to wait for a table and prepare for the best crab legs east of Alaska! The Half Shell is all about food. Great value too. Hopefully it won't be another 14 years before we go back!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheaton IL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Fun, no frills place with great food! Love crab? Love specials that you get allot for your money then your in the right spot.

Crab legs with fries, bread grilled onion, tomatoes and pepper with tenderloins of filet$ 20 how can you beat that and I couldn't finish it all.

Amazing crab cakes, best I have ever had. Wines all great big bar and the staff just good people bringing you good food. If your in the area you would be silly not to go!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell, Inc also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell, Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell, Inc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.