We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
600 N Michigan Ave, Ste 7, Chicago, IL 60611-3684 (Near North Side)
312-276-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Finally had a chance to try out this place at lunch while in town for a seminar. Sat at the bar (quick service) and followed the bartender's recommendation for an Asian chicken/shrimp dish. Excellent choice. Presentation was attractive and the portion hearty and tasty. I will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    421
    135
    38
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, OR
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Looks More Expensive Than It Is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Grand Lux is a higher priced Cheesecake Factory with a bit more class. The portions are large just like at the Factory. Prices are a bit higher as well. Our server spent a great deal of time sitting and talking with friends rather that taking care of his tables. The food is fine, nothing great but served hot. Someone other than our waiter delivered all our food, as he was too busy socializing. If you are looking for a place that offers plenty of variety on it's menu at a reasonable price then this is place for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Five of us got together for brunch at this lovely Chicago restaurant just around the corner from the Magnificent Mile. A real bonus was the reasonable valet parking service ($15 for 3 hours). Everyone ordered something different and all were quite satisfied with their selections. Best of all was a bit of a sweet after brunch, a basket of beautiful, light beignets and assorted sauces. Our waitress was very courteous and as prompt as she could be, considering how crowded and busy this large restaurant is. All in all, an excellent place and I would return to try many other items on the extensive menu!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The desert and decor make this place a hit :) :) :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you enter the place it seems to be a very expensive place with the high wall ceiling, the music and the decor in general but it was mid range restaurant with our bill as 100$ for 4 people without the drinks. To start with we had to wait for 15 minute for a window seat and 5 min for non window seat on a sunday night. they give u electric plate which will light up once its your turn. The staff in general was courteous, helpful, engaging and nice. The menu has a lot of variety from mini pizza, to pasta to burger to everything i suppose. We ordered spinacha dip and shrimp for appetizer and they were good. Our main course was a pasta which was just alright but the scene steal er was the desert, we ordered the lava cake (ou need to order in the beginning as it takes 25 min to prepare) which was die for and la creme (cusard) which was super awsome but we were very full by the time we reached there. The presentation is a visual delight. Will surely try the place again !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Classy and upscale-looking but not the upscale prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Walking in the place, we weren't sure if we were staying or not. The decor and architecture would lead a person to believe it is pricy. It is not.
Waited 5-10 minutes for a table. Not bad considering how busy they were. Spent my spare time staring at the art on the ceiling. Our server was Charles, very friendly, helpful and right on it.
I ordered the fried calamari, shrimp, zucchini and onion appetizer. My lady ordered a pot roast cheeseburger. I am glad I only ordered an appetizer, the plate was huge! Both of our meals delicious. No space or time for dessert, but they looked very yummy.
Dinner and drinks was $30 for both of us .
I'd recommend with 2 forks up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lux Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.