We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop in before a ballgame.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salt & Pepper Diner

Salt & Pepper Diner
3537 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60657-1611 (Wrigleyville)
773-883-9800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #596 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Wrigleyville
Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stop in before a ballgame.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stopped in before a baseball game. The bloody marys were good. We split the salt & pepper burger. It was good but not anything special. I will say it had a lot of sodium in it. I started swelling before the game was over. Waitress was friendly and had a good personality. I would go back but only because it is convenient to the field.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The pancakes are awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We live in the neighborhood and stop by Salt & Pepper at least once a month. The service is fast, the atmosphere is bustling, and the food is inexpensive but really good. The pancakes are especially good. We went to Clarke's down the street last week (another diner type place on Lincoln) because Salt & Pepper was closed (Salt & Pepper closes somewhat early -- 3pm? 5pm?, not sure, they are not open for dinner) and we wanted breakfast food. Mistake! The pancakes at Salt & Pepper are SO much better. Can be tricky to get a table at rush breakfast hour on the weekends because it's a pretty small place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good, but bad jukebox”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The food was good, and waitstaff was friendly. The only bad part was someone playing "what's new pussycat" over and over. I would think they would be able to prevent this, or take quicker action

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“WARNING!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

WARNING! I went here last week, used a credit card I rarely use- & it strongly appears that the waitress used a card reader when she took our card to pay our bill. $5500 in charges two days later, the credit card company figured this out & cancelled the card. Huge hassle, lots of paperwork. DONT USE A CREDIT CARD AT THIS BURGER JOINT!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, great prices, BYOB bloody Marys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My teenaged daughter and I had breakfast here on a Sunday morning and were so pleased with our meal!

Our server was a little slow getting to us initially, but once she did take our order, our food came quickly and everything was cooked perfectly, wasn't fancy, but was delish! And you just can't beat the price!

We will visit again WITHOUT A DOUBT!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Pepper Diner also viewed

 

Been to Salt & Pepper Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt & Pepper Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.