We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star of Siam

Star of Siam
11 E Illinois St, Fl 1, Chicago, IL 60611-5655 (Near North Side)
312-670-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Description: Star of Siam serves healthy, delicious, great value food. Star of Siam is the best choice for anyone who loves Thai food. Menu highlights include Padthai Noodles, Cashew Chicken, Tomyum (hot & sour lemongrass soup), Satay with signature peanut sauce and cucumber salad, and authentic tasty curries. Star of Siam is a convenient place to escape from the bustle of downtown.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was soo good best Yellow Curry ever... get the Large White Rice, you will want it for sure! The Pad Thai was also not to be missed. I had it delivered but would love to try it in the restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    95
    45
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inexpensive but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Star of Siam has very good food at exceptionally reasonable prices. This is amazing given their location. It's very casual but you can make reservations (suggested on weekends).

It gets quite crowded and can be a bit loud. You may be less than a foot from the next table. It may be difficult to understand if you're not from a big city but the large number of people and the high ambient noise level actually offers privacy. Sort of like walking though Times Square on a weekend in nice weather.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow, this food sucks.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stuck in chicagos winter storm, my beloved and I decided to order for delivery. The quoted time for delivery was 45 mins, but they got to the hotel pretty quick considering the storm. What's in the bag? Red chicken curry with a side of rice, pud see eww, crab ragoons, Thai ice coffee, and a Thai ice tea. The curry was bland, spicy but bland that it overpowered the taste, the portion was small, and very little soup considering I did order curry right? The Thai ice coffee, was so strong I thought it was Vietnamese coffee. My entree was the pud see eww, looks like it took after the name here in Chicago, eww was all I could say looking at the barely touched container as I threw it in the garbage. All I taste was fish sauce, and the beef was too dry. The crab ragoon, was mediocre. The only nice thing I would rave about is the tea, which happens to be thee only thing we finished for a whopping $40.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pathetic downturn in a once great Thai restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had been going to Star of Siam for years, shortly after it opened as a spin off of the old Thai Star Restaurant. On a visit this past Saturday night, the staff was attentive and pleasant. The "rice paper" spring roll was nearly 1/8" thick rather than paper thin. The meat in our curry dish was the poorest quality I've ever experienced. Tough, little flavor and not even close to be considered a good value! The restaurant is beautiful and comfortable, but for thier own sake, hope the owners get back to quality rather than serving something you would expect from your local mall's food court!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Service is super fast and the food is excellent for a really cheap price. I go there with my husband, with small or large groups of friends, and it's always the same, we have a great time

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of Siam also viewed

 

Been to Star of Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.