We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhh upscale comfort food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Town Tavern - CLOSED

West Town Tavern
1329 W Chicago Ave, Chicago, IL 60642-5769 (West Town)
312-666-6175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Town
HOBART
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ahhhhh upscale comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Their claim to fame is comfort food with a sophisticated twist and I must say they deliver just that. We had to have the pot roast based on our daughters recommendation and it was excellent with garlic mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts. The pot roast was so very tender and the black vinegar sauce was such a compliment. I had reservations about the brussel sprouts, but they won me over in one bite. so very delish! My daughter had a pork shoulder special with risotto that had the wonderful flavors of thanksgiving without being a turkey/dressing plate.Portions are hearty and they have plenty of wine pairings. For dessert we had the special which was a squash (think pumpkin) and apple pie. It was also great. The restaurant has a very comfortable decor and service was excellent. We will definitely be going back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is our favorite resaurant to bring out of towners to. It's out of the way in an upandcoming area but can be reached by the EL. We've eaten just about everything on the regular menu--love their soups, their mussels, and my husband raves over the pot roast. Their specials are great and innovative.

The service is great and the decor interesting. It deserves to be at the top of the list of good places to eat in Chicago but...don't tell anyone or we won't be able to get a table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for contemporary food quality, service, and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The West Town Tavern, located in the near west side of Chicago, serves a very good selection of contemporary food that includes weekday specials. Its one dining room is nicely decorated and is housed in a rehabbed late nineteen century building that is set up with booths and tables. It has an original tin ceiling, exposed brick walls, and a very comfortable 15-seat oak bar near the entrance. All of this combines to provide a very charming and warm ambiance.

On a recent weeknight my wife and I dined there. We started with a drink at the bar. Chris our bartender poured ample, well prepared drinks at very reasonable prices. We then moved to a nicely located booth where we started our dinner by sharing a crab cake appetizer that was a special of the evening. We then shared a fresh salad that was made with arugula and tomatoes topped with a green goddess dressing that was also a special. For our entrées my wife had the sea scallops accompanied by butternut squash risotto, and I had the pot roast with mashed potatoes (that I believe is a signature dish). For desert we had the Michigan Tart, another special, that consisted of berries and vanilla ice cream in a pastry shell that is made on the premises. All the food was very well prepared, fresh, and delicious, and we ate everything with great pleasure. We also had house wines by the glass that were very tasty and reasonably priced. Our table service was professional, helpful, and well-paced. Also, the hostess who greeted and seated us was very friendly and accommodating.

We had an outstanding dining experience at The West Town Tavern, and it is very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Oustanding--and More Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were brought here by friends to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. When we arrived, the chef brought us a plate of their homemade potato chips--why, you ask?--because our friends had been called the day before to confirm the reservation *and* they had been called that day as well, due to an uncharacteristic lack of record-keeping. It was the restaurant's way of apologizing--even though our friend didn't think they needed to! We started out with heirloom tomato salad, a special for the evening; one of us had scallops; another had tenderloin; I had the cajun shrimp special. Everything was fabulous--and the desserts were among the best we'd ever tasted. We shared banana cream pie (not like any you've ever had) and a mixed-berry tart. This is an excellent restaurant, with friendly service from beginning to end. Highly, highly recommended. If you're visiting Chicago, you need to know that it's out of the way, but worth the drive or cab ride.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Charming little restaurant, a little out of the way, but worth the effort to find. I would describe the food as upscale home cooking. I had pot roast and trust me, it's far better than any pot roast your mother ever cooked! The ambience is low key and soothing. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Town Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.