We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Chicago to your Saves list
Thompson Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis
1 review
“Felt like I was at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

No words can describe how awesome and friendly the hotel is. The staff is great: they do everything in your need. The front desk welcomes you, makes sure everything is set and ready for you as soon as you walk in. The concierge was very helpful with getting around the city and recommending the top restaurants to eat at! The location is even better, perfect location in downtown that's not too busy and awesome views from any room at the hotel! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    92
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
97
248
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Terrific location for a great hotel. Four star service from the entire staff - from valet to bell persons to front desk to concierge. Nicely appointed, well designed rooms. Rare for a hotel, the ground floor restaurant Nico is known in its own right and did not disappoint. This is now our go to hotel in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

How can one even begin to explain how wonderful our experience staying at The Thompson was? Simply stated the staff, the location, the form and function of the rooms, the restaurant (Nico) and their amazing staff deserve grand accolades. My partner and I travel frequently all over the states, from the East Coast to the West Coast, and I am comfortable saying, this was/is the most wonderful experience we have ever had. I can't thank the staff enough for treating us like royalty; Especially, the Team at Nico.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I get my bookings through Magellan Hotels. They beat the price by almost $80/per night than any on-line booking company. We had a corner bedroom room with separate shower and separate bathtub. A corner view in a seating area with a lovely sofa and huge flat screen TV in the bedroom and sitting area (2 TVs). Staff is attentive. You have to use your room key to ride on the elevator, which the staff doesn't explain that. It's in a great location and use of the car and driver is great.I found the room and bathroom to be very clean. I would love to stay here again. It's quiet and the beds are very comfortable. It was hard trying to figure out how to turn on the lights.

Room Tip: use Magellan to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Can't explain here by any words, amazing Location, comfortable Room, very Clean great service, and very friendly staff. Except Breakfast that I wish was include, the other things were amazing and fabulous. I am so happy to chose this hotel and highly recommend it to you too

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife, baby and I had the chance to stay 8 nights at the Thompson Chicago.
The surrounding areas are great! Nice boutiques around as well as great dinning options.
Staff was absolutely helpful and friendly.
The room was amazing, nice views to the city arquitecture landscape.
I can only recommend this hotel, if you can afford it make an effort to stay in the corner suites, these are a little bit more spacious, include a very cool bathtub.
Finally, the Nico Osteria serves some amazing dishes, not only for dinner but also for breakfast and lunch. I ordered severaltimes from the room-service menu and I can only recommend the rigatone and the hamburger.

Room Tip: Make an effort to stay in the corner suites, these are a little bit more spacious, include a very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The Thompson was amazing. I had a flight cancelled and their staff and flawless hotel room was such a treat. I didn't have a car, but it is an easy walk around the neighborhood to dining, shopping, and sights. I look forward to visiting their other locations!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thompson Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.