We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, lovely hotel with nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Chicago to your Saves list
Thompson Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well located, lovely hotel with nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

When we checked in they offered an upgraded room at no additional fee. The room was lovely, with a nice view of downtown Chicago. The shower was wonderful -large with a choice of rainfall shower or handheld. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    92
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
97
248
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Amazing location of the hotel provides with a great choice of wonderful restaurants in the area. Very nice little walk takes you to the best shops. The bar and restaurant in Thompson Hotel not only have amazing menus but also very welcoming, friendly and pleasant personnel.
I'm definitely staying in this hotel next time I'm in Chicago!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Visiting family in Chicago. Great central location in the heart of the city. From the moment we arrived, until we left 7 days later, there was always a warm welcome and good bye. The staff learn names immediately and address you by name. The service is superb, the rooms are open and light as well as immaculate. The entire experience is one we will return to asap. Only regret is we did not eat at in house restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Thompson Chicago in an ideal near North Side location is a really nice find. Beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, delightfully designed bathrooms (no bathtub) but a huge walk in shower. I found the almost perfect hotel room here everything designed for your convenience and nothing superfluous. Clean, clean clean. Will return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My sister and I met up for a long weekend at the Thompson. I knew nothing about it, except that the location was convenient and we could get a lake view room

We stayed on the 21st fl with glass on 2 sides of our room. The staff was attentive and accommodating. The restaurant is trendy, packed and DELICIOUS! We ate brunch there 2 mornings in a row (get the hanger steak and eggs).

The concierge staff was awesome and went above and beyond to get us the events we wanted. One of their restaurant recommendations was Chicago Q (YUM). We visited it on the way to Second City. Also went to Table 52 and Gage. Both amazing.

I highly recommend the Thompson. The only thing we didn't like was the lack of "real" newspapers. I understand their intention to go green. But I like my newspaper.

We fully intend to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Modern hotel. Spacious room with King Size Bed & Couch. Great Views. Excellent Bathroom. Very friendly staff. Location on top of Magn Mile. Close to good restaurant & bars. There is NOTHING I disliked. Thanks Thompson!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights and this place is amazing. The standard king room is huge and has a sectional sofa in it! There is a walk in shower with dual shower heads. This place made me feel super luxurious. I stayed for a business trip and the store I work for was right around the corner, the concierge knew who I was by name and walked me to the storefront. The lobby is super trended with cool artwork and modern interior design. I would definitely recommend anyone who can afford it to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thompson Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.