We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Hotel in Chicago- NO CONTEST.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best New Hotel in Chicago- NO CONTEST.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's all in the details for The Thompson Hotel Chicago- Everything from the artwork in the lobby to the luxurious view of the Gold Coast from the penthouse suite- Impeccable. Every person on the staff are true professionals and so honestly make you feel like you are at home. I wish I lived here! And how can I not mention the attached restaurant Nico Osteria? This new restaurant has it all figured out- You would think Nico has been around for years the way they make your dining experience effortless. Everything was cooked to perfection, and servers could not be more accomodating.

No place can touch The Thompson's level of service and class right now- The only place to stay in Chicago, no contest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    138
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
129
341
26
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Great staff - very attentive and cheerful. The room design is up-to-date. There are even USB plugs for your phone and tablet right next to the bed - very rare but welcome at hotels. Only minor complaint is the lighting in the room is not bright. Great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Thompson a few weeks ago while in Chicago to see a Blackhawks game. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is fantastic. Gary the doorman is exceptional. The lobby and rooms have an upscale, modern, hip but friendly feel. We didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant (we went out for quick pizza around the corner one night and County Barbeque the other) but the room service breakfast was excellent; next time. Our room had a fantastic view and was very comfortable. My son loved the cookies in the room when we got there. We will be back! I can't say enough nice things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

More than anything else about this hotel, even the beautiful decor and Nico's, the service provided by the staff at the Thompson Chicago stands out in my mind. I travel quite a bit for my job and have encountered all levels of customer service. The service provided by the staff at this hotel was outstanding. They were warm, courteous, and very helpful. The staff seemed to take pride in their hotel and their work. Hats off to them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Fantastic central location very close to lake Michigan / Michigan Av / Oak Street, tasteful trendy but cozy design, large rooms and beds, wonderful helpful staff - and great value! We stayed at the the brand new Chicago Thompson for a whole week and felt like home. After LES Thompson in NY, this stay confirms that these people understand everything about contemporary sophisticated but relaxed hospitality and that they believe in the benefit of accurate branding. Looking forward to our next stay at a Thompson hotel! Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay here! We had a room block at the Thompson Chicago for our New Year's Eve wedding and all of our guests raved about this hotel! It was stylish and chic with a wonderful friendly staff. The lobby and bar area had a luxurious and modern vibe that we liked so much that we took a number of our wedding pictures there. My now husband and I stayed in one of the penthouse suites which had amazing city views and plently of room for me and my bridal party to get ready on our wedding day. The location was key as it's very close to Michigan Ave and a number of great restaurants and shops. I would definitely recommend staying here on your next trip or even staycation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful views of Gold Coast neighborhood. Rooms are clean and very trendy. Lighting is not the greatest in the evening. No tub in bathroom. Beautiful lobby and bar downstairs. Restaurant Nico is amazing!! Delicious and original with Italian influence. Plan on coming back as location is prime!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.