We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Chicago "home" away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Chicago to your Saves list
Thompson Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Chicago "home" away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were so happy to be back at the Thompson Hotel and see so many familiar, friendly faces! Amela, Mark, Gary and Sam are always helpful, with a smile on their face. These are truly amazing employees, and the hotel wouldn't be the same without them. I always make my reservation for my next stay (hopefully before I checkout from current visit), with Amela. This eliminates any problems I've had with Central Reservations in the past. Mark has handled many situations for us, from dinner to drugstore needs. Gary and Sam are just great men, who run a tight ship. They are the first impression of the Thompson Hotel Chicago, and what a great impression they present! They handle your luggage, car, hail cabs, give directions, assist you in many ways, in the freezing cold, snow, ice, or the blistering heat, all with a smile on their faces. All of these individuals are five star plus plus! The only slight negative: the lobby needs a wind break! It is freezing. Also, in the bathroom: we didn't really care for the fixed shower head and would have liked more counter space.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    92
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
97
248
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Fabulous lobby and bar. Room was also very comfortable and great linens. For such a large bathroom, the lack of counter space is appalling. No place to put toiletries (even the toilet top was blocked by a towel rack, which seemed very odd) so I had to keep all my stuff in a bag on the floor. The hook for a robe was at chest level allowing it to drag on floor when hung. Something as simple as a small cart in the bathroom like I have seen at the Mercer in NYC would go a long way towards solving this rather irritating problem. I also think the hotel is going to find many showers with running water since the on/off valve needs to be precisely and exactly pointed downward, otherwise, the shower and/or hand held device will continue flowing. Overall, the renovations were a much needed improvement and would definitely recommend as I am convinced that they will correct the bathroom issue since it will be very difficult to ignore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just recently reopened after being completely renovated. I can't think of anything they don't offer that I need. The staff was friendly from the moment we arrived. One of the valets even knew of the college I attended by the shirt I was wearing....(not too shabby since it is a small, private school far from downtown Chicago.

Slight European feel to the remodeling. The modern touch works. Rooms are large and nicely furnished. Not your average "Bed & Desk" room. The bathrooms are spacious. I'm not a coffee drinker but my wife is and said the morning selection of coffee & tea was great. Wi-Fi was included and worked great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I wanted a weekend away and chose the Thompson Hotel for something different. We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels downtown but wanted something smaller and quaint...which it was. The staff were very accommodating and extremely friendly (especially Gary, the stationed at the front door..basically runs the show and is hilarious!). Walking into the hotel you are immediately taken to a relaxed urban oasis but not stuffy at all, the fireplace, though very contemporary, made me feel welcomed and at home. No lines at checkin which was great...we booked a suite, which had corner views of city on the 16th floor. It did not look like the pics on website due to renovations, where they took down the partition wall, which gave the room a more open concept feel. The major drawbacks were: NO COFFEE Machine in room, no ice stations on floors, you had to call for ice and very limited room service options. These are "must haves" for us, so although we were impressed by decor, staff and amazing bathtub...we will continue trying new locations in the future. If you can sue without coffee ice and room service selection then this is an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a night to spend some time alone downtown during our stay with my family in the suburbs for the holiday. I chose it because I had previously lived in the area, and was reminded again during this stay that this is seriously the BEST location downtown. Steps away from the best shopping in the city, down the street from some wonderful restaurants (Luxe Bar was my go-to for years, Carmines and Rosebud also delicious, Starbucks and Corner Bakery close for quick coffee, etc).

Anyway, we had to wait a bit upon check in because the room wasn't ready, but they brought up some waters and treats and a lovely note which appeased even my grumpy partner. The room was amazing, the bed was large and comfy, everything was immaculately clean, the bathroom was very cool, the amenities were very generous and good quality - in general, we were sorry to leave. We didn't check out the restaurant/bar but they looked and smelled good. Small complaints were that the gym was adequate, but pretty spartan considering how nice the hotel is, and that there is no subsidized parking. There is no street parking in the area, and they tried to charge $60 bucks (!!!!) for overnight valet parking, which is absolutely nuts. There are 2 garages that are like 1/2 block away that are $45 - we were kind of annoyed that there wasn't some % off for staying at the hotel.

Were were also both obsessed with the decor - fits that perfect niche of modern but also cozy. I've stayed at a lot of the local hotels in the city over the years, and while it doesn't have the old-school luxury of the Peninsula, this is still my new favorite.

Room Tip: Area can get sort of loud at night so pick a higher floor just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The staff is wonderful - very welcoming and service oriented. The locale couldn't be better for shopping, eating, walking, and just enjoying the city. Can't wait to return! The new interior is very
nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated hotel offers everything you need with friendly & kind service. The modern touch is warm yet classy. The rooms are surprisingly spacious and the bathrooms have plenty of space along with fabulous showers. Enjoy a very nice selection of coffee & tea in the mornings as well as the complimentary car service. Be sure to know car service times as it's not available 24/7.
The location is awesome!! You're in the heart of everything!! Tavern on rush and many other bars, restaurants & shops within walking distance as well as the start of the magnificent mile. The concierge is full of suggestions so be sure to ask for recommendations if you need one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thompson Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thompson Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.